EnglishChinese (Simplified)

EB-5 直接投资出现新趋势

2021年11月17日 |

萨尔曼·西迪基

尽管围绕 EB-5 区域中心计划存在不确定性,但 EB-5 直接投资计划继续激起来自世界各地的全球投资者的兴趣,许多实体(例如餐饮企业)将目光投向美国以立足

移民律师伯纳德沃尔夫斯多夫是 WR 移民 (Wolfsdorf Rosenthal LLP) 的管理合伙人和前 AILA 总裁,他说餐馆似乎是 EB-5 直接投资领域最受欢迎的业务。

“由于与区域中心计划失效相关的不确定性,人们对 EB-5 直接的兴趣和需求激增,”沃尔夫斯多夫说。

他说,他看到连锁餐厅和特许经营业务成为直接投资的趋势。

“我对我见过的大多数直接项目的担忧是确保它们具有可行的退出或还款策略,”沃尔夫斯多夫补充道。

拥有自己的 EB-5 业务与其他人的直接交易

贝尔玛·德米罗维奇·钦乔伊 (Belma Demirovic Chinchoy) 是 Iyer Demirovic Chinchoy LLP 的创始律师,她说她注意到 EB-5 直接投资的投资类型存在分歧。

“我们看到,选择自己创业(各行各业)的投资者与投资他人直接交易的投资者之间的分歧相当大。 某些特许经营权受到直接投资者的欢迎,投资者继续表达对特许经营权交易的兴趣,”Chinchoy 说。

她告诫投资者不要选择受欢迎的选择。

“我对投资者的建议是少关注行业本身,而是根据每个项目的优点进行评估。 事情‘流行’并不一定会导致可行的直接交易,”她说。

“由于 RC 计划的中断,市场上的直接交易激增。 许多交易属于典型的直接交易——餐厅、特许经营——而其他交易则以科技初创企业为特征。 投资者在订阅脆弱的风险投资支持的项目时必须非常小心,因为在此类交易中失去一切的风险——移民福利和投资——可能很高,”Chinchoy 补充道。

汇集EB-5投资流程优先

宾夕法尼亚州 Beshara 的管理合伙人 Edward C. Beshara 表示,许多外国人打算投资于由独立公司拥有和运营的 EB-5 直接项目。

“也就是说,投资者将他们的资金投入到一个集合投资过程中,在这个过程中,他们可能是 4 到 6 个 EB-5 投资者之一,”Beshara 说。

“EB-5 直接项目的流行类型将允许每个投资者创造 10 个全职工作岗位,例如仓库、陈列室、履行中心枢纽、餐厅和合适的特许经营权,”他补充道。

对重组 EB-5 区域中心项目的兴趣

位于休斯顿的 Foster, LLP 的董事长 Charles C. Foster 指出了涉及重组区域中心项目的另一个趋势。

“根据我们的经验,我们看到所有行业都有直接投资,但吸引投资者的主要目的是建立区域中心项目,这些项目经过重组以符合 EB-5 直接投资标准,”福斯特说。

“整体房地产公寓、公寓、酒店和写字楼项目仍然是最受欢迎的,”他补充道。

新的特许经营概念仍然不受欢迎

KLD LLP 合伙人 Phuong Le 表示,虽然人们对直接投资领域的特许经营感兴趣,但新概念仍然不受外国投资者欢迎。

“人们想要特许经营权,但最好是拥有经验丰富的运营商的资本充足的特许经营权。 新概念不流行。 他们需要经验丰富的操作员,他们能够帮助我们的客户进行日常运营。 这实时所做的是让知识渊博的公司和公司为直接 EB-5 调整 RC 模型,”Phuong Le 说。

“我们的特许经营权由总特许人和公开交易的企业提供。 人们开始明白,直接 EB-5 并不意味着您必须定居。 投资者有选择。 为什么不对 RC 提出同样的要求呢?” 他加了。

印度投资者热衷于直接投资

英 (Elissa) Lu是 Lu & Associates 律师事务所的管理律师,她说她看到了很多人对 来自印度的EB-5直接投资.

“自 与 EB-5 移民投资者区域中心计划相关的法定授权已于 30 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日到期,更多的投资者正在探索直接 EB-5 项目的可行性。 根据我最近合作的一个直接 EB-5 项目,它的网站每天有超过 1,000 名独立访客。 大约一半的游客来自印度,”卢莹(Elissa)说。

她补充说,尽管兴趣仍然很高,但许多投资者被漫长的过程、EB-5 法律法规的不确定性以及与投资相关的风险所吓倒。

她还表示,她没有看到对行业类型的特别偏好。

“就直接 EB-5 而言,外国投资者通常投资于销售他们熟悉的产品或服务的企业,或者与他们有个人关系的企业,例如朋友或亲戚的企业。”

投资者的 L 和 E 签证选择

Ying (Elissa) Lu 还分享了一些 EB-5 投资者有资格获得 L 或 E 签证。

“与投资者是申请人的EB-5签证不同,L签证和E签证的申请都需要由美国雇主担保,”她说。

“例如,要获得 L-1 身份,该外国人必须在提交申请之前的三年内在申请美国公司的附属公司、母公司、分支机构或子公司连续一年内受雇于国外。请愿或进入美国。”

她补充说:“因此,如果 EB-5 投资者碰巧在外国管理一家公司,他们可能有另一种签证选择: L-1签证. 该外国公司可以在美国设立子公司,并以管理人员或执行人员的身份将持有 L-1A 签证的外国人派往美国。 稍后,该外国人可以根据以下条件申请绿卡 EB-1C 类别,目前没有针对全球申请人的签证积压。”

自从去年夏天 EB-5 区域中心计划失效后,外国投资者就只剩下 EB-5 计划下直接 EB-5 的唯一选择了。 虽然行业专家认为国会最终会重新授权 RC 计划,但没有确定的日期,尽管有人推测最早可能会在今年 XNUMX 月。 

杂志文章免责声明

来源: https://www.eb5investors.com/blog/eb5-direct-investment-trends

版权所有 © 2022 陆律师事务所。 版权所有。

EnglishChinese (Simplified)

New trends emerge for EB-5 direct investments

Published by: admin | November 17, 2021 |

By Salman Siddiqui

Despite uncertainty surrounding the EB-5 Regional Center program, the EB-5 Direct Investment program continues to stir the interest of global investors from around the world, with many eyeing entities like restaurant businesses to gain a foothold in the U.S.

Immigration attorney Bernard Wolfsdorf, who is a managing partner at WR Immigration (Wolfsdorf Rosenthal LLP) and former AILA president, said restaurants seem to be the most popular business in the EB-5 Direct investment space.

“There is a surge of interest and demand for EB-5 direct as a result of the uncertainty associated with the lapse of the Regional Center program,” Wolfsdorf said.

He said he is seeing a trend of restaurant chain and franchise operations as direct investments.

“My concern with most of the direct projects I have seen is to ensure they have viable exit or repayment strategies,” Wolfsdorf added.

Own EB-5 business versus others’ direct deals

Belma Demirovic Chinchoy, who is the founding attorney of Iyer Demirovic Chinchoy LLP, said she was noticing a split about the kind of investments being made in EB-5 direct investments.

“We’re seeing a pretty even split between investors who choose to start their own business (various industries) and those who are investing in others’ Direct deals. Certain franchises have been popular with direct investors and investors continue to express interest in franchise deals,” Chinchoy said.

She cautioned investors against opting for the popular choice.

“My advice to investors is to focus less on the industry itself but evaluate each project on its own merits. Things are ‘popular’ don’t necessarily result in viable direct deals,” she said.

“Because of the RC-program hiatus, there is a surge in direct deals on the market. Many deals fall into what could be considered a typical direct deal – restaurants, franchises – while others feature businesses that could be characterized as tech start-ups. Investors have to be very careful about subscribing to tenuous VC-backed projects as the risk of losing it all – immigration benefits and investment – can be high in such deals,” Chinchoy added.

Pooled EB-5 investment process preferred

Edward C. Beshara, who is a managing partner at Beshara, PA, said many foreign nationals intend to invest in EB-5 direct projects owned and operated by separate companies.

“That is, the investors are committing their funds to a pooled investment process in which they may be one of 4 to 6 EB-5 investors,” Beshara said.

“The popular types of EB-5 Direct Projects would allow the creation of 10 fulltime jobs per investor such as warehouses, showrooms, fulfillment center hubs, restaurants, and suitable franchises,” he added.

Interest in restructured EB-5 regional center projects

Charles C. Foster, who is the chairman of the Houston-based Foster, LLP, pointed out another trend involving restructured regional center projects.

“In our experience, we see direct investments in all sectors, but with investors primarily attracted to establish regional center projects that have been restructured to be EB-5 direct investment compliant,” Foster said.

“Overall real estate condo, apartment, hotel and office building projects are still the most popular,” he added.

New franchise concepts remain unpopular

Phuong Le, who is a partner at KLD LLP, said while it is true that there is an interest in franchises in the direct investment space, new concepts remain unpopular with foreign investors.

“People want franchises, but ideally well capitalized ones with experienced operators. New concepts aren't popular. They want experienced operators who will be able to help run the day-to-day operations for our clients. What this does in real time is allow knowledgeable firms and companies to adapt the RC model for direct EB-5,” Phuong Le said.

“We have franchises being offered by master franchisors and publicly traded businesses. People are beginning to understand that direct EB-5 doesn't mean you have to settle. Investors have choices. Why not make the same demands you make of RCs?” he added.

Indian investors keen on direct investment

Ying (Elissa) Lu, who is a managing attorney at the Law Office of Lu & Associates, said she was seeing a lot of interest in EB-5 direct investment from India.

“Since the statutory authorization related to the EB-5 Immigrant Investor Regional Center Program expired on June 30, 2021, more investors are exploring the feasibility of direct EB-5 projects. According to one direct EB-5 project that I have recently collaborated, it sees over 1,000 unique visitors per day to its website. Around half of the visitors are from India,” Ying (Elissa) Lu said.

She added that though the interest remains high, many investors are deterred by the long process, uncertainty of the EB-5 laws and regulations, and the risk associated with the investment.

She also said she was not seeing a particular preference for the type of industry.

“In terms of direct EB-5, the foreign investors typically invest in businesses that sell products or services that they are familiar with, or businesses that they have a personal connection, such as a friend’s or relative’s business.”

The L and E visa options for investors

Ying (Elissa) Lu also shared that some EB-5 investors are eligible for the L or E visas.

“Different from the EB-5 visa, where the investor is the petitioner, both the L visa and the E visa petitions need to be sponsored by a U.S. employer,” she said.

“For example, to qualify for the L-1 status, the alien must have been employed abroad with an affiliate, parent, branch, or subsidiary of the petitioning U.S. company for a continuous period of one year within the three years prior to filing the petition or entry into the United States.”

She added: “Therefore, if an EB-5 investor happens to manage a company in a foreign country, they may have another visa option: the L-1 visa. That foreign company can set up a subsidiary in the U.S. and send the alien into the U.S. with an L-1A visa as a managerial or executive employee. Later on, this alien may apply for a Green Card under the EB-1C category, which currently does not have a visa backlog for worldwide applicants.”

Ever since the EB-5 Regional Center program lapsed last summer, foreign investors were left with the only remaining choice of the direct EB-5 under the EB-5 program. While industry experts believe that Congress eventually will reauthorize the RC program, there is no definite date set for it, though some speculate that it could be as soon as this coming December. 

magazine-article-disclaimer

Source: https://www.eb5investors.com/blog/eb5-direct-investment-trends

Copyright © 2021 Law Office of Lu & Associates. All Rights Reserved.