EnglishChinese (Simplified)

EB-5 律师

美国移民局 (USCIS) 旨在优先考虑将对美国经济做出贡献并协助创造就业机会的移民。 EB-5 签证旨在让外国投资者有机会在全国范围内投资新的商业企业并为社区创造就业机会

什么是投资者签证?

EB-5,即投资绿卡,是一种移民签证类别,由国会于 1990 年为从事商业企业的移民创建,这些企业将有利于美国经济并创造至少 10 个全职工作岗位。 每年大约有 10,000 个签证名额分配给 EB-5 投资者、他们的配偶和 21 岁以下的未婚子女。

为了获得 EB-5 签证的资格,投资者必须

  • 对美国的商业企业进行必要的投资; 和
  • 计划为合格的美国工人创造或保留 10 个永久的全职工作。

该签证授予投资者及其家属在美国两年的有条件居留权。去除条件的申请,也称为 I-829 申请,需要在两年有条件居留期结束前 90 天内提交。

谁能申请投资移民?

主投资人及其受益人(主投资人的配偶和21岁以下未婚子女)可以通过该类别申请移民。

申请人不需要具有高等教育学位和以前的商业经验。 此外,他们不需要会说英语。

我应该投资多少钱才能获得 EB-5 签证?

投资金额的多少取决于您将资金投向何处。截至 2021 年 10 月,所需的 EB-5 最低投资金额为 100 万美元,目标就业区 (TEA) 或农村地区的最低投资金额为 50 万美元。 TEA 是一个失业率至少达到全国平均失业率 150% 的地区。这与 1990 年至 2019 年 11 月 20 日之间使用的投资标准相同。

EB-5 最低投资额近年来一直是一个有争议的问题。 在 2019 年11月 21 日,EB-5 投资移民项目现代化最终规则 (PDF)(“最终规则”)生效。 根据此最终规则,标准最低投资水平将从 1 百万美元增加到 180 万美元。 如果投资在 TEA 或偏远地区,则需要 90万美元。 最终规则还取消了州将某些地理和政治分区指定为高失业率地区的权力; 取而代之的是国土安全部 (“DHS”) 将直接根据修订后的要求进行此类指定。

2021年6 月 22 日,美国加利福尼亚北区地方法院在 Behring Regional Center LLC v. Wolf, 09263-cv-5-JSC 案中取消了最终规则,并将最低投资金额恢复为2019 年 11 月 2021日之前的水平。

2021年8 月 23日,国土安全部对美国地方法院在 Behring Regional Center LLC 诉 Wolf 案中的裁决提出上诉。 如果第九巡回法院推翻美国地方法院的意见,最低投资额可能会恢复到最终规则中规定的投资额(目标就业区 (TEA) 投资为 90万 美元,非 TEA 投资为 180 万美元)。

鉴于这种持续的不确定性,我们建议每位 EB-5 投资者与您的移民律师仔细核对正确的投资金额,并了解在上诉未决期间进行较低金额投资的潜在风险。

什么算作新商业企业(“NCE”)?

EB-5项目对“新商业企业”的定义非常特殊:它仅指1990年11月29日之后成立的营利性企业。在此之前成立的公司称为“现有企业”。/p>

要建立新的商业企业,根据 8 CFR §204.6(h) 有三种方式:

(1) 创建一个全新的公司;

(2) 收购现有公司并同时或稍后重组,组建新的商业企业;

(3) 通过投资扩大现有公司,使其净资产或员工人数增加 40%。 如果你收购了一家陷入困境的企业,你只需要留住原来的员工。 如果原员工人数少于10人,则需要补足10人。

显然,考虑到移民的目的,满足 EB-5 要求创建“全新”企业比收购 1990年11月29日之前成立的企业更容易。

通过地区中心项目申请移民

通过地区中心投资的优势在于:

  • 投资资本:您只需投资50万 美元,而不是常规的 一百万美元要求。 近期投资金额有所变化。 请阅读我应该投资多少钱才能获得 EB-5 签证?
  • 管理:虽然投资者的角色不能完全被动,但除非您愿意,否则您不必参与业务的日常管理。 所以投资者可以住在美国的任何地方 。
  • 创造就业机会:对于直接 EB-5,您必须为美国工人创造(或在“陷入困境的企业”情况下,“挽救”)10 个就业机会。 这些工作必须是企业工资单上的直接工作。 但是,如果您通过地区中心进行投资,您可以计算所有因 EB-5 所创造的直接、间接和诱发的就业机会。 因此,在地区中心更容易满足创造就业的要求,这对于确保在两年期后取消条件很重要。

EB-5 地区中心项目的法定授权于 2021年6月30 日失效。EB-5 行业仍在等待国会重新授权地区中心项目。

由于地区中心项目的法定权力失效,自2021年7月1 日起,美国移民局将:

  • 拒绝接收2021年7月1日之后收到的和地区中心项目相关的I-924 和I-526申请。
  • 对于依赖于地区中心项目的重新授权,目前正在等待处理的申请,在另行通知之前,将不予审理。
  • 继续接受和审查 I-829 表格,包括在 2021年7月1 日或之后提交的表格。
  • 开始拒绝所有基于地区中心已批准的I-526申请所提出的I-485, I-765 和I-131申请。

通过直接EB-5项目申请移民

直接EB-5,顾名思义,就是指这种EB-5投资创造的工作岗位必须是直接的。 这些就业必须显示在企业的工资单上。 企业应向这些员工发放 W-2 表,而不是 1099 表,后者通常发放给独立承包商。 相比之下,地区中心所创造的就业可以是直接、间接和衍生就业。 哪些工作将被计算在内是地区中心项目和直接 EB-5 投资之间的主要区别。

与EB-5 地区中心项目相比,选择直接投资 EB-5 的投资者通常对业务有更多的控制权,并更积极地参与业务的日常运营。 在一个典型的地区中心项目中,投资者可能只是数百名投资者中的一个,被称为有限合伙人。 他们很少参与企业的日常管理,尽管他们仍然在一定程度上参与决策过程。

就直接 EB-5 而言,外国投资者通常投资于那些销售他们熟悉的产品或服务的企业,或者与他们有个人联系的企业,例如朋友或亲戚的企业。 他们也可以使用他们全资拥有的美国企业作为他们 EB-5 申请的工具。

对于EB-5项目,存在一种常见的误解,很多人认为只有地区中心的项目才能将投资减少到50万。 其实,投资的多少并不取决于它是否是地区中心,而在于你投资的是否是目标就业区(TEA),即失业率为全国平均水平1.5倍的地区,或者偏远地区。

在选择适合做直接 EB-5 的企业时,您应该询问:

  1. 该企业是否是劳动密集型的,并且您的投资可以轻松创造 10 个新工作岗位;
  2. 该企业是否有可靠且可执行的商业计划;
  3. 如果您不是企业的唯一所有者,该企业的经理/合伙人是否经验丰富且值得信赖。 这是因为您和您家人的绿卡与投资的成功息息相关。

由于地区中心项目目前尚未得到延期,直接 EB-5 成为目前 EB-5 类别中外国投资者可用的唯一选择。

EB-5签证的申请流程是什么?

要通过EB-5成为一名无条件的永久居民,即无条件绿卡的拥有者,必须经历三步:

  • 投资者必须首先递交I-526表,即"外国企业家移民申请表"。
  • 在I-526表得到批准之后,投资者和他的受益人(配偶及21岁以下未婚子女)即可向美国领事馆申请移民签证。如果投资人在美国境内,可直接递交I-485表调整身份。在完成这个过程之后,当您进入美国之时,您就获得了永久居民的身份。这个最初的身份是"有条件"的,为期两年。有条件绿卡和无条件绿卡就享有的权利而言,没有差别。
  • 在两年的有条件绿卡到期前的90天内,投资者必须递交I-829表,申请去除条件。从投资人获得有条件绿卡起算,5年后投资者可选择申请成为美国公民。

EB-5 签证申请的结果对投资者及其家人有很大的利害关系。 由于 EB-5 法律法规的复杂性,建议由经验丰富的 EB-5 律师提供专业协助。

如何选择EB-5项目?

选择一个安全稳定的EB-5项目是EB-5申请的重要一步。 这是因为您投资的EB-5项目能否如期创造所需的工作岗位,以及在您持有有条件居留期间企业能否继续经营,是您最终获得美国永久绿卡的必要条件。无论是地区中心项目,还是直接EB-5项目,投资人都必须自己做尽职调查,减少投资的盲目性。

我们经常会遇到这样的情况:当我们问投资者为什么选择某个特定项目时,他们通常会说是因为移民中介的推荐。 如果我们继续问他们是否知道项目的细节,很多人会给出否定的答案。 这是可以理解的,因为 EB-5 投资文件,例如私募备忘录(“PPM”)和合伙协议使用的英语非常复杂,其中包含许多深奥的法律术语。 它们通常超过 100 页。 许多外国投资者不会说英语。 即使他们能说英语,缺乏法律或财务知识仍可能导致他们无法完全理解这些文件的内容。 我们强烈建议投资者向合格的 EB-5 律师和财务顾问寻求独立意见。

美国陆律师事务所是一家经验丰富的EB-5律师事务所,曾协助无数高净值人士通过EB-5申请获得美国永久居留权。 我们拥有专业知识,能够以顺利有效的方式组织好每一个直接EB-5或地区中心 EB-5 申请。 我们在 EB-5 申请方面保持着出色的记录。 请随时联系我们

如何证明EB-5申请中资金的合法来源?

资金来源问题对获得 EB-5 绿卡成功至关重要。

EB-5 法规要求投资者证明投资资本是“通过合法途径获得的”。 为了表明投资者已经投资或正在投资通过合法途径获得的资本,8 CFR §204.6(j)(3) 中的规定要求 EB-5 申请在适用的情况下包括外国商业登记记录, 5 年内提交的公司、合伙企业和个人纳税申报表、指认任何其他资金来源的证据、或法院判决或未决诉讼案件的文件。 美国移民局希望了解 (1) 投资者最初如何获得用于 EB-5 投资的资金,以及 (2) 明确记录从原始来源到所投资的新商业企业银行账户的“资金路径”。 在实践中,美国移民局非常注重技术性的操作。 投资人需准备提供比法规​​中所预期的更广泛的文件。

投资者在记录资金来源时可能会遇到每个国家不同的具体问题。 一些国家严重依赖现金交易或不要求个人提交纳税申报表,因此很难记录资金来源。 在某些情况下,投资者的纳税申报表可能显示的收入远低于他/她声称的收入。 在这两种情况下,都必须向美国移民局提供大量证据,以应对可能得出的任何负面推论。

例如,一位投资者声称他的 EB-5 资金来自其房屋的销售收益。 除了有关出售的文件外,I-526 申请还应包括证明该投资者最初如何购买该房屋的文件。 如果首付款是用他的累积工资支付的,他需要提供进一步的就业证明。 如果房子是他父母的礼物,投资者还必须追踪他父母的收入,以显示他们最初是如何购买这栋房子的。

追踪 EB-5 资金来源和资金路径是非常琐碎细致的。 它涉及非常多的证据。 作为一家在追踪投资者资金合法来源方面拥有丰富的第一手经验的律师事务所,我们帮助客户审查其可用资产并为他们找到最佳解决方案。 每个客户可能拥有不同的资产组合。 我们会为客户评估获取每项资产相关文件的难度,并就获取相关文件提出实用的方法。 您可以和我们预约 20 分钟免费咨询,来询问有关 EB-5 的常见问题。

什么是 EB-5 骗局?

许多 EB-5 投资移民的申请人成为骗局的受害者,这些骗局危及他们的个人财富并剥夺了他们获得美国绿卡的机会。 根据投资者在移民过程中所处的阶段以及其所在项目已经使用的资金额,投资者将有不同的补救措施可供他/她使用。 投资者可能需要与一个律师群体合作,包含移民律师和证券诉讼律师,以确保他/她的最大利益。

我们在EB-5投资移民领域的多年专业经验使我们能够在整个过程中帮助外国投资者,使您可以及时获得绿卡。 今天就联系我们,获取免费咨询

版权所有 © 2021 陆律师事务所。 版权所有。

EnglishChinese (Simplified)

EB-5 Lawyer

The United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) aims to prioritize immigrants who will contribute to the American economy and assist in job creation. The EB-5 visa was designed to allow foreign investors the chance to invest in new commercial enterprises around the country and create jobs for the community.

What is an Investor Visa?

The EB-5, Green Card through investment, is an immigrant visa category created in 1990 by Congress for immigrants who engage in a commercial enterprise that will benefit the U.S. economy and create at least 10 full-time jobs. Approximately 10,000 visa numbers are allocated annually to EB-5 investors, their spouses and unmarried children under 21.  

In order to qualify for the EB-5 visa, investors must

  • Make the necessary investment in a commercial enterprise in the United States; and
  • Plan to create or preserve 10 permanent full-time jobs for qualified U.S. workers.

This visa grants investors and their dependents conditional residency for their first two years in the U.S. A petition to remove conditions, also known as the I-829 petition, needs to be filed within 90 days before the end of their two-year conditional residency period.

Who qualifies?

The principal investor and the investor's spouse and unmarried children under 21 years old can all obtain their green cards through this category. 

They do not need to have a degree of higher education and previous business experience. In addition, they do not need to speak English. 

How much money should I invest to get the EB-5 visa?

The amount of capital depends on where you invest your money. As of October 2021, the required minimum EB-5 investment amount is $1 million and the minimum amount for investment in a Targeted Employment Area (TEA) or rural area is $500,000. The TEA is an area that has experienced unemployment of at least 150 percent of the national average rate. This is the same investment standard used between 1990 and November 20, 2019.

The EB-5 minimum investment amount has been a controversial issue in recent years. On November 21, 2019, the EB-5 Immigrant Investor Program Modernization Final Rule (PDF) (“Final Rule”) took effect. Under this Final Rule, the standard minimum investment level will increase from $1 million to $1.8 million. $900,000 is needed if the investment is in the TEA or a rural area. The Final Rule also eliminates a state’s ability to designate certain geographic and political subdivisions as high-unemployment areas; instead, the Department of Homeland Security (“DHS”) would make such designations directly based on revised requirements.

On June 22, 2021, the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California, in Behring Regional Center LLC v. Wolf, 20-cv-09263-JSC, vacated the Final Rule, which reverted the EB-5 minimum investment amounts back to the pre-November 21, 2019 level. 

On August 23, 2021, DHS appealed the U.S. District Court decision in Behring Regional Center LLC v. Wolf, which held the Final Rule invalid. If the Ninth Circuit reverses the opinion of the U.S. district court, the minimum investment amount may revert back to the investment amounts set forth in the EB-5 Final Rule ($900,000 for Targeted Employed Area (TEA) investments and $1.8 million for non-TEA investments).

With this ongoing uncertainty, we advise each EB-5 investor to double check with your immigration attorney about the correct investment amount and understand the potential risks of making a lower amount investment during the pendency of the appeal. 

What counts as a New Commercial Enterprise (“NCE”)?

The definition of "New Commercial Enterprise" under the EB-5 program is very special: it only refers to for-profit businesses established after November 29, 1990. Companies established before this are called "existing businesses". 

To establish a new commercial enterprise, there are three ways according to 8 CFR §204.6(h):

(1) Create a brand-new company; 

(2) Acquire an existing company and reorganize at the same time or later to form a new commercial enterprise;

(3) Expansion of an existing company through investment to increase its net worth or number of employees by 40%. If you acquire a troubled business, you only need to retain the original employees. If the number of original employees is less than 10, you need to make up to 10. 

Obviously, considering the purpose of immigration, it is easier to meet the EB-5 requirements to create a “brand new” enterprise than to acquire a business established before November 29, 1990.

Applying Through the Regional Center Program

These are the primary advantages of investing through a Regional Center:

  • Investment capital: You only need to invest $500,000 instead of the regular $1 million requirement. The investment amount has changed recently. Please read “How much money should I invest to get the EB-5 visa?” above. 
  • Management: Although the investor's role cannot be completely passive, you do not have to be involved in the day-to-day management of the business unless you want to do so. So the investor can live anywhere in the U.S. 
  • Job creation: For direct EB-5, you have to create (or in the "troubled business" scenario, "save") 10 jobs for U.S. workers. Those jobs have to be direct jobs on the business’s payroll. But if you invest through a Regional Center, you can count all direct, indirect, and induced jobs created as a result of the EB-5 . Thus, it is easier to satisfy the job creation requirements in a Regional Center, which is important to ensure that the condition is removed after the two-year period. 

Statutory authorization for the EB-5 Regional Center Program lapsed on June 30, 2021. The EB-5 industry is still waiting for the Congress to reauthorize the Regional Center Program.

Due to the lapse in statutory authority for the Regional Center Program, starting on July 1, 2021, USCIS will: 

  • Reject Form I-924 and I-526 received on or after July 1, 2021, related to the regional center program.
  • Not act on any pending petition or application on these form types that is dependent on a lapsed statutory authority until further notice.
  • Continue to accept and review Form I-829, including those filed on or after July 1, 2021.
  • Begin rejecting all Form I-485 applications and any associated Forms I-765 and I-131 based on an approved Regional Center Form I-526.

Applying Through Direct EB-5

Direct EB-5, as the name implies, means that the jobs created by this kind of EB-5 investment must be direct. They have to be on the business’s payroll. The business should issue Form W-2 to those employees, but not Form 1099, which usually is issued to independent contractors. In contrast, regional center affiliated jobs can be direct, indirect and induced jobs. What jobs will be counted is the key difference between the regional center program and direct EB-5 investment. 

In comparison to the regional center affiliated EB-5, investors who choose to make investments in direct EB-5 usually have more control of the business and are more actively involved in the day-to-day operations of the business. In a typical regional center project, the investor may just be one of the hundreds investors, who are called limited partners. They rarely participate in the day-to-day management of the business though they still keep somewhat involvement in the decision making process. 

In terms of direct EB-5, the foreign investors typically invest in businesses that sell products or services that they are familiar with, or businesses that they have a personal connection with, such as a friend’s or relative’s business. They may also use their wholly-owned U.S. business as the vehicle for their EB-5 petitions. 

There is a widespread misunderstanding about the EB-5 program that only projects in regional centers can reduce investment to 500,000. In fact, the amount of investment does not depend on whether it is a regional center, but whether you invest in a Targeted Employment Area (TEA), that is, an area with an unemployment rate of 1.5 times the national average, or a remote area.. 

In choosing a business that is suitable for direct EB-5, you should ask:

  1. If the business is labor intensive and will easily create 10 new jobs with your investment;
  2. If the business has a solid and executable business plan;
  3. If the manager/partner of the business is experienced and trustworthy in case that you are not the sole owner of the business. This is  because you and your family’s green cards are tied to the success of the investment.

Since the regional center program has expired, direct EB-5 becomes the only option currently available for foreign investors in the EB-5 category. 

What Is the Application Process?

There are three steps in order to become an unconditional permanent resident (Green Card holder):

  • Investors will be required to file Form I-526 "Immigrant Petition by Alien Entrepreneur" at first.
  • Upon approval of the I-526 petition, the investor and his/her immediate family (spouse & unmarried children under 21 years of age) may apply for an immigrant visa at a U.S. consulate or apply for Adjustment Status (Form I-485) if the investor is already in the U.S. By finishing this step and entering into the U.S., the investor will become a conditional permanent resident. The initial resident status of the investor is "conditional" for two years. Conditional Green Card status confers the same rights as the permanent unconditional Green Card. 
  • Within 90 days before the end of your two-year conditional green card period, the investor must file Form I-829 to request removing the condition. The investor may apply for citizenship if he/she has been a permanent resident for 5 years, counting from the beginning of the conditional residency.

Investors and their families have a high stake in the outcome of their EB-5 visa applications. Due to the complexity of the EB-5 laws and regulations, professional assistance from an experienced EB-5 attorney is recommended..

How to select an EB-5 project?

Choosing a safe and stable EB-5 project is an important step in the EB-5 application. This is because whether the EB-5 project you invested in can create the required jobs as scheduled, and whether the business can continue to operate while you hold a conditional residency are necessary conditions for you to ultimately obtain a permanent green card in the United States. Whether it is a regional center project or a direct EB-5 project, you must do the due diligence yourself to reduce the blindness of investment.

We often encounter situations like this: When we ask investors why they choose a particular project, they usually say that it is because of the recommendation from an immigration agency. If we continue to ask if they know the details about the project, many people will give a negative answer. This is understandable since EB-5 investment documents, such as the Private Placement Memorandum (“PPM”) and Partnership Agreement are written in complicated English with many profound legal terminologies. They usually run for more than 100 pages. Many foreign investors do not speak English. Even if they do, lacking legal or financial knowledge may still cause problems for them to fully understand what those documents say. We strongly suggest investors seek independent opinions from qualified EB-5 attorneys and financial advisors. 

Law Office of Lu & Associates is an experienced EB-5 law firm that has assisted a number of high net worth individuals with obtaining U.S. permanent residency through EB-5 petitions. We have the expertise to put together the many moving parts of a direct or regional center EB-5 petition in a smooth and effective manner. We have kept an excellent track record for EB-5 petitions. Please feel free to contact us with your questions. 

How to prove the lawful source of funds in an EB-5 application?

The source of funds issue is critical for EB-5 Green Card success. 

The EB-5 regulations require that the investor prove the invested capital was “obtained through lawful means.” To show that the investor has invested or is in the process of investing capital obtained through lawful means, the regulations at 8 C.F.R. §204.6(j)(3) require that the EB-5 petition include, as applicable, foreign business registration records, corporate, partnership and personal tax returns filed within 5 years, evidence identifying any other source of capital, or documentation of court judgments or pending court cases. The USCIS wants to see (1) how the investor initially obtained the money used for the EB-5 investment and (2) a clearly documented “path of funds” from the original source to the commercial enterprise’s bank account. In practice, the USCIS is prone to hyper-technicality. Be prepared to provide much more extensive documentation than anticipated in the regulations. 

The investor may encounter varying country-specific issues in documenting source of funds. Some countries rely heavily on cash transactions or do not require individuals file tax returns, thus making it very difficult to document the source of funds. In some instances, the investor’s tax returns may indicate much less income than what he/she claims to have. In both these cases, it becomes necessary to provide USCIS with an abundance of evidence that will serve to counter any negative inferences that may be drawn. 

For example, an investor claims that his EB-5 capital was from the sale proceeds of his house. Besides the documents about the sale, the I-526 petition should also include documentation to prove how this investor initially acquired this house. If the down payment was paid with his accumulated salary, he needs to provide further evidence about his employment. If the house was a gift from his parents, the investor will have to trace his parents’ income as well to show how they bought that house in the first place. 

Tracing the EB-5 source of funds and path of funds is tedious. It involves extensive evidence. As a law firm that has abundant first-hand experience in tracing the legal source of funds for investors, we help our clients review their available assets and find the optimal solutions for them. Each client may have a different combination of assets. We evaluate the difficulty in obtaining supporting documents for each asset and suggest practical ways to retrieve relevant documentation. You may schedule a 20-minute free consultation for generic questions about EB-5. 

What Are EB-5 Scams?

Many EB-5 immigrant investors have fallen victim to scams that have put their personal wealth in jeopardy and taken away their opportunity to attain a U.S. green card. Depending on where the investor is in the immigration process and how much funds have been deployed in the project, the investor will have different remedies available to him/her. The investor may need to work with a group of attorneys, such as immigration attorney and security litigation attorney to secure his/her best interest.

Our years of experience specializing in this area allow us to help foreign investors through the process, helping you obtain your green card in a timely manner. Contact us today for a free consultation.

Copyright © 2021 Law Office of Lu & Associates. All Rights Reserved.