EnglishChinese (Simplified)

职业移民律师

美国需要更多的职业移民。职业移民主要由专业人士、技术工人和具有“杰出”或“非凡”能力的人组成,以使我们的移民系统推动经济更快增长。

职业移民律师将帮助您完成基于就业的移民签证的申请流程。美国陆律师事务所专精移民法,可以帮助外籍工人成为永久居民。

什么是职业移民?

虽然非移民工作签证,例如 H-1B、L-1 和 O-1 允许外国工人在美国合法生活和工作,但它们是临时的,每个不同的工作签证都有设定的时间限制。与非移民签证不同,以就业为基础的移民签证将会使申请人获得美国的合法永久居留权。 在成为合法永久居民五年后,某些符合条件的外国公民可以申请 美国公民身份。因此,如果外籍工人、他们 21 岁以下的未婚子女和他们的配偶满足五种职业移民类别中的其中一种的资格,他们就可能可以在美国永久生活和工作。

职业移民有哪些类别?

职业移民一共有五种类别的签证。 具有不同教育背景、工作经验和技能组合的外国人可能有资格申请不同的签证类别。

EB-1 签证

EB-1 签证是一种优先就业签证,适用于

  • 具有特殊技能的外国人(EB-1A)
  • 杰出教授或研究人员 (EB-1B)
  • 国经理人或高管 (EB-1C)

在EB-1类别下提交的签证申请不需要劳工证。 由于 EB1 签证类别通常没有签证积压,它被认为是五种基于就业的移民签证中最快的选择。

EB-2 签证

EB-2 签证是第二优先签证,可用于

  • 持有高级学位的专业人士
  • 具有卓越能力的人

在 EB-2 类别下提交的申请通常必须具有美国劳工部批准的劳工证。 寻求国家利益豁免的外国国民提交的移民申请不需要劳工证,因为允许此类合格的外国国民留在美国符合美国的最佳利益。

EB-3 签证

EB-3 签证是第三优先签证,可用于

  • 技术工人
  • 专业人士
  • 非熟练工人

这些劳工都必须在美国拥有一个永久的全职工作,以获得申请EB-3签证的资格。 他们还必须获得劳工证的批准。

EB-4 签证

EB-4 签证是一种基于就业的第四优先签证,适用于特殊移民。

前三种基于就业的签证类别的移民申请是在 I-140 表格上提交的,而基于就业的第四优先移民申请应由您的雇主提交I-360 表格。 但是,在某些情况下,申请人可能可以提出自我申请。

EB-5 签证

EB-5 签证是一种基于就业的第五优先签证,适用于外国高净值人士。申请人的移民申请应通过 I-526 表格提交。 每年大约有 10,000 个签证名额分配给 EB-5 投资者。

为了获得 EB-5 签证的资格,外国投资者必须对美国的新商业企业进行必要的投资,该企业将为符合条件的美国工人创造或保留 10 个永久性全职工作岗位。

您的优先日是什么时候以及如何使用它?

美国国务院 (“DOS”) 通过优先日来确定在特定年份当可用的移民签证数量有限时,您在签证队列中的位置。

对于家庭担保移民,优先日是向美国移民局 (USCIS) 提交 I-130 申请的提交日期。 以就业为基础的移民申请的优先日,在不需要劳工证时乃为向 美国移民局 提交移民申请的日期;当需要劳工证时乃为劳工证申请被劳工部接受处理的日期。

DOS 每月更新其签证公告。 它列出了出生在不同国家的签证申请人的不同移民类别的优先日期。 如果签证公告在您的申请类别和您的出生国家/地区下显示“C”,即“当前”,且您在美国持有有效的非移民身份,您将有资格通过提交 I-485 申请来申请移民签证。或者如果您在美国境外,则可进行领事处理 。

如果签证公告显示了签证类别和国家/地区的日期,则意味着只有优先日早于该日期的人才能申请该类别下的移民签证。 优先日晚于该日期的人将不得不忍受签证积压。 如果没有更多可用的签证,公告将用 U 表示,表示不可用。

签证公告上有两组日期:“最终行动日期”和“申请日期”。 最终行动日期表明移民签证名额何时真正可用。 优先日早于最终行动日期的申请人将会较快地获得绿卡。 “申请日期”图表显示哪些居住在美国境外的绿卡申请人可以向国家签证中心 (NVC) 提交申请——即使尚未有签证名额。

对于人在美国并寻求向美国移民局提交身份调整申请的人,他们应该参考 USCIS 的网站: www.uscis.gov/visabulletininfo, 以确定他们应该使用哪个图表,并找到他/她可以提交 I-485 申请的最早日期。 当美国移民局确定本财政年度有可用的移民签证时,美国移民局将在其网站上公告申请人可以使用签证公告中的“申请日期”图表来确定是否可以提交I-485 申请。 否则,需要使用最终行动日期来决定申请人是否有资格提交申请。

您可以在移民局邮寄给您的案件收据上找到您的优先日期。

如何运用绿卡申请中的签证配额交叉使用?

对于面临严重排期的申请人,签证配额交叉使用是一种让申请人跳过排队的强大的手段。 签证配额交叉使用规则既适用于 I-485 身份调整过程,也适用于通过领事处理的移民签证申请。

根据规则,在某些情况下,申请人可以使用其配偶或父母的出生国而不是他们自己的出生国来进行申请。 主申请人可以使用其配偶的出生国来进行申请,配偶也可以使用主申请人的出生国来进行申请。 需要注意的是,虽然子女可以使用父母任一方的出生国家/地区来申请,但父母不得使用子女的出生国家/地区。

为了利用签证配额交叉使用规则的优势,副申请人必须与主申请人同时申请移民签证或将跟随加入。 当主申请人使用配偶的出生国时,两个申请人都将被视为主申请人。

您如何有资格获得职业移民?

由于每个签证类别都不同,这意味着所需的资格也不同。

您有两种选择:要么自行申请,要么让您的雇主为您这个外国员工提出申请。 在职业移民签证类别中,EB-1A、EB-2 国家利益豁免和 EB-5 都不需要美国雇主提供的全职永久工作机会。

职业移民绿卡申请流程步骤是怎样的?

在美国获得基于就业的绿卡(EB2 和 EB3)通常分为三个阶段:

第 1 阶段:向劳工部(“DOL”)提交 PERM/劳工证申请。

第 2 阶段:一旦 PERM 申请获得批准,向美国移民局(“USCIS”) 提交 I-140 表格移民申请。 如果受益人在提交申请时居住在美国并且他/她的优先日期是当前,他/她可以在提交I-140 表格的同时提交I-485 移民申请。 如果受益人居住在美国境外,他/她必须等到 I-140 申请获得批准后才能进行领事处理。 请务必查看国务院每月发布的签证公告,以了解您在排队中的位置。

第 3 阶段:如果受益人有签证排期,一旦他/她看到他/她的优先日期早于签证公告图表 B 上的签证申请日期,他/她就可以开始领事处理或身份调整程序。 但是,有时,如果签证名额在某一年用完,USCIS 将指示利益相关者仅在受益人的优先日早于签证公告图表 A 中列出的最终行动日期时方可提交 I-485 申请

请注意,某些基于就业的签证类别不需要劳工证。 因此,申请人将简单地跳过上述第 1 阶段。 这些签证类别包括 EB-1、EB-2 国家利益豁免、EB-4 和 EB-5。 EB-1 和 EB-2 国家利益豁免将使用 I-140 表格提交移民申请,而 EB-4 将使用 I-360 表格,EB-5 将使用 I-526 表格。

为什么要聘请律师来帮助以就业为基础的移民?

根据您所符合的资格类型和出生国家/地区,绿卡流程可能会非常长。 然而,如果您计划在美国永久生活和工作,获得绿卡是您最好也是唯一的解决方案。 美国陆律师事务所可以帮助您找到一种操作性强且最佳的移民美国方式。 我们的移民律师是移民法方面的专家。 我们将帮助个人和企业轻松自信地完成复杂的移民程序。

要了解有关我们服务的更多信息,请立即联系美国陆律师事务所。

版权所有 © 2021 陆律师事务所。 版权所有。

EnglishChinese (Simplified)

Employment Immigration Lawyer

America needs more employment-based immigrants. Consisting mostly of professionals, skilled workers, and persons with “extraordinary” or “exceptional” ability, employment-based immigrants could make our immigration system power faster economic growth.

An employment immigration lawyer will help you through the application process for an employment-based immigrant visa. The Law Office of Lu & Associates specializes in immigration law and can help an alien worker become a permanent resident.

What Is Employment Immigration?

Although nonimmigrant work visas, such as H-1B, L-1 and O-1 allow foreign workers to live and work in the United States legally, they are  temporary with a time limit set for each different work visa.  Unlike non-immigrant visas, employment-based immigrant visas lead applicants to the lawful permanent residency in the United States. After five years of being a lawful permanent resident, certain qualified foreign nationals may apply for U.S. citizenship. Therefore, foreign workers, their unmarried children under 21 years old, and their spouses may be eligible to permanently live and work in the United States if they qualify for one of five employment based visa preference categories.

What Are the Types of Employment Based Immigrant Visas? 

There are five types of employment-based visas. Foreign nationals with different combination of educational background, working experience, and skill set may qualify for different visa categories.

EB-1 Visas 

The EB-1 visa is a first-preference employment based visa that is available to 

  • foreign nationals with extraordinary ability (EB-1A) 
  • Outstanding Professors and Researchers (EB-1B)
  • Multinational Managers or Executives (EB-1C)

Labor Certification is not needed for visa applications filed under this category. Because the EB1 visa category usually does not have visa backlogs, it is considered as the fastest option among the five types of employment based immigrant visas.

EB-2 Visas

The EB-2 visa is a second-preference visa that is available to 

  • Professionals Holding an Advanced Degree
  • Persons with Exceptional Ability

Applications filed under the EB-2  category must generally have a Labor Certification approved by the U.S. Department of Labor. Labor Certifications are not required for the immigration petitions filed by the foreign nationals seeking a national interest waiver because it will be in the best interest of the United States if the qualified foreign nationals are allowed to stay in the U.S. 

EB-3 Visas 

The EB-3 vias is a third-preference visa that is available to

  • Skilled Workers
  • Professionals
  • Unskilled Workers

For any of these groups, a permanent, full-time job offer is a requirement in order to qualify. They must also have their own labor certification approved.

EB-4 Visas

The EB-4 visa is an employment-based, fourth preference visa that is available to special immigrants. 

Different from the first three employment based visa categories, where immigration petitions are filed on the Form I-140, employment-based fourth preference immigrant petitions should be filed by your employer on the Form I-360, Petition for Amerasian, Widow(er), or Special Immigrant. However, there are certain situations where the employee may make a self-petition.

EB-5 Visas

The EB-5 visa is an employment-based, fifth preference visa that is available to foreign high networth Investors.The immigration petition should be filed on the Form I-526. Approximately 10,000 visa numbers are allocated annually to EB-5 investors.

In order to qualify for the EB-5 visa, a foreign investor must make the necessary investment in a new commercial enterprise in the United States, which will create or preserve 10 permanent full-time jobs for qualified U.S. workers.

What Is Your Priority Date and How to Use it?

The priority date is used by the Department of State (“DOS”) to determine where you are in the visa queue when there are a limited number of immigrant visas available in a given year. 

For family sponsored immigration, the priority date is the filing date that the I-130 petition is filed with the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). The priority date for an employment based immigrant petition is either the date the immigration petition is filed with the USCIS when a labor certification is not needed, or the date the labor certification application was accepted for processing by the Department of Labor.

The DOS updates its visa bulletin monthly. It lists priority dates for different immigration categories for visa applicants born in different countries. If the Visa Bulletin shows "C", which means "current", under your application category and your country of birth, you will be eligible to apply for an immigrant visa by either filing the I-485 application if you are in the U.S. with a valid non-immigrant status, or going through the consular processing if you are outside of the U.S. 

If the Visa Bulletin shows a date for a visa category and country, it means only people whose priority dates are prior to that date can apply for an immigrant visa under that category. People with priority dates later than that date will have to endure a visa backlog. If there are no more visas available, the bulletin will represent this with a  U, for unavailable.

The visa bulletin has two sets of dates on it: the “Final Action Dates'' and the “Dates  for Filing”.  Final Action Dates indicate when immigrant visa numbers will be actually available. Applicants with their priority dates earlier than the Final Action Dates will get their green cards not too long. The “Dates for Filing” chart shows which green card applicants who are living outside of the United States should go ahead and submit their application with the National Visa Center (NVC)—even though a visa number is not ready yet. 

For people who are in the U.S. and seeking to file applications for adjustment of status with USCIS, they should refer to the website of the USCIS at www.uscis.gov/visabulletininfo, to determine which chart they should use and find the earliest date that he/she can file the I-485 application. When USCIS determines that there are immigrant visas available for the fiscal year, USCIS will state on its website that applicants may instead use the “Dates for Filing” charts in the Visa Bulletin. Otherwise, use the Final Action Date to decide the applicant’s eligibility. 

You will be able to find your priority date on the USCIS receipt notice.

How Does Cross Chargeability Work in a Green Card Application?

For applicants who face significant visa backlogs, cross chargeability is a powerful means that may allow those applicants to skip the line.  The cross-chargeability rule applies to both the process of I-485 adjustment of status and also to immigrant visa applications through the consular processing.  

According to the rule, in certain situations, an applicant may charge their visa to their spouse’s or parent’s country of birth rather than their own. The principal applicant may cross-charge to the derivative spouse’s country of birth, and the derivative spouse may cross-charge to the principal’s country of birth. It is important to note that though derivative children may cross-charge to either parent’s country of birth, parents may not cross-charge to a child’s country of birth.

In order to take advantage of the cross-chargeability, a derivative applicant must be seeking an immigrant visa at the same time with the principal applicant or will follow to join.  When a principal uses the derivative spouse’s country of chargeability, both applicants are deemed as principal applicants. 

How Can You Qualify for Employment Immigration?

Each visa category is different, which means the qualifications needed are all different.

Your two options are to either self-petition or for your employer to petition for you as a foreign worker. Within the employment-based immigration visa categories, EB-1A, EB-2 National Interest Waiver and EB-5 do not require a full time permanent job offer from a U.S. employer.  

What Are the Process Steps for Employment Based Green Card Application?

There are typically three stages of getting an employment-based green card (EB2 and EB3) in the US:

Stage 1: File PERM/Labor certification with the Department of Labor (“DOL”).

Stage 2: Once the PERM application is approved, file the Form I-140 immigration petition with the USCIS. If a beneficiary lives in the U.S. at the time of filing and his/her priority date is current, he/she may file the form I-485 concurrently with the Form I-140 immigantion petition. If the beneficiary lives outside of the U.S., he/she has to wait until the I-140 petition is approved before going through the consular processing. Make sure to check the Visa Bulletin published by the Department of State every month to know where you are in the line. 

Stage 3: If there is a visa backlog for the beneficiary, as soon as he/she sees that his/her priority date become earlier than the dates for filing visa applications on the Chart B of the Visa Bulletin, he/she can begin the consular processing or the adjustment of status process. However, sometimes, if the visa numbers have been used up in a given year, USCIS will instruct the stakeholders to file the I-485 application only when the beneficiary’s priority date becomes earlier than the final action dates listed on Chart A of the visa bulletin.   

Please be noted that some employment based visa categories do not require a labor certification. Therefore, the petitioner will simply skip Stage 1 as mentioned above.  Those visa categories include EB-1, EB-2 National Interest Waiver, EB-4 and EB-5.  EB-1 and EB-2 National Interest Waiver will use the Form I-140  to file the immigrant petition while EB-4 will use the Form I-360 and EB-5 will use the Form I-526. 

Why Should You Hire a Lawyer to Help With Employment-Based Immigration?

The green card process can be incredibly long depending on your type of eligibility and your country of birth. Yet, if you are planning to live and work in the United States permanently, obtaining a green card is your best and only solution. The Law Office of Lu & Associates can help you find a practical and optimal way to immigrate to the U.S. Our immigration lawyers are experts in immigration law. We will help individuals and businesses navigate through the complex immigration process with ease and confidence.  

To learn more about our services, contact us at the Law Office of Lu & Associates today.

Copyright © 2021 Law Office of Lu & Associates. All Rights Reserved.