旧金山工作签证律师

工作签证允许您在美国生活和工作一段特定的时间。 美国有多种类型的工作签证可供选择。如果您正在寻找工作签证律师,位于旧金山的 美国陆律师事务所可以帮助您详细了解适合您的资格和您的独特情况的最佳选择。

以下是有关工作签证和相关移民法的基本介绍。

什么是工作签证?

工作签证授予外国人临时工作的许可。 工作签证允许您在美国工作一定的时间,但您可以通过延期和续签来延长该时间。

工作签证属于非移民签证类别,这意味着它们不会使您获得永久居留权或绿卡。

签证申请流程必须由您的雇主发起,并应向美国公民及移民服务局 (USCIS) 提交申请。 对于某些类型的工作签证,例如 H-1B签证,符合人数上限的外国人必须参加抽签。 如果被选中,H-1B申请应在指定期限内提交。 

作为工作签证申请的受益人,如果您在美国持有有效的非移民身份,例如 F-1,您可以在工作签证申请上注明您将从该非移民身份更改为此份工作签证将授予您的另一种非移民身份。 如果您居住在国外,您需要在临时工作签证获得批准后进行领事处理或签证面谈。  

什么是加急处理?

对于发送至美国公民及移民服务局 (USCIS) 的大多数申请,没有处理时间保证。通常需要几个月甚至几年的时间。

但是,您可以为加急处理支付额外费用。此选项保证 USCIS 将在 15 天内对您的申请做出决定,无论是批准、拒绝还是要求提供更多文件。

如果您对时间要求比较紧急,这是一个很好的选择。

谁有资格获得工作签证?

由于工作签证种类繁多,因此满足资格要求的方法也有很多。

一般来说,您必须在美国有工作才能获得工作签证。 雇主将代表您申请签证。 根据您的情况,您可能有资格获得两种或更多类型的工作签证。 您可 与我们的律师交谈 , 找出您的最佳选择。  

工作签证有哪些种类?

工作签证有多种类型可供选择,每一种都适用于不同的情况。 您可以在 USCIS 的官方网站上找到完整的 工作签证选项列表。.

H-1B签证

我们推荐使用 H-1B签证 使雇主能够临时雇用外国工人从事特殊职业。 专业职业是指需要应用高度专业化知识并至少获得学士学位或同等学历的职业。 

H-1B 的有效期为三年。 该期限可以延长,但通常总共不能超过六年。《二十一世纪美国竞争力法案》(AC104法案)第106(c)和第 21(a)条规定了一些例外情况。 H-1B 签证持有人在美国境外停留的时间不计入 1年限制,因为法律允许外国工人在其 H-XNUMXB 身份有效期间补回在境外停留的时间。  

如果您之前以 H-1B 身份工作了不到 6 年,并且实际离开美国超过 1 年但不到 6 年,您将有资格获得新的 6 年 H 身份。也就是说,六年时钟“重置”。您还可以选择接收初始期间剩余的时间。第二种选择的好处是你不需要再次参加H-1B抽签,因为你已经被计入H-1B上限了。

H-1B 签证的年度数量限制“上限”为每个财政年度 65,000 个签证。代表拥有美国硕士学位或更高学位的外国工人提出的前 20,000 份申请不受上限限制。 

L-1签证

L-1签证是非移民类别的工作签证,它适用于在美国和其他国家有商业机构的跨国公司从外国公司调派高级经理或者行政主管 (L-1A)、或拥有特殊专业知识的技术人员 (L-1B)来美国公司工作。

在审查 L-1 申请时,美国移民局密切关注以下问题:

  1. 美国公司与外国公司之间的合格关系;
  2. 在确定被派遣人是否适合他/她所担任的经理或行政主管职位,或是否具有专业知识时,所采用的工作描述和个人的履历资格。

考虑到此类工作签证申请的复杂性,我们强烈建议您向经验丰富的移民律师寻求专业帮助。  

L-1 签证的有效期是多久?

L-1 身份的初始期限通常为三年。 但是,如果美国公司是初创公司,则L-1初始有效期仅为一年。 请务必在初始有效期到期前在工作签证律师的帮助下延期您的身份。 L-1A(经理/高管)签证的法定期限为七年; L-XNUMXB(专业知识人员)签证的法定期限为总共五年。  

O-1 签证

O-1 非移民签证适用于在科学、艺术、教育、商业或体育方面具有非凡能力的个人(O-1A 签证),或在电影或电视行业有非凡成就的个人,并且这些成就已在国内或国际上得到认可(O-1B 签证)。

O-1 签证的初始停留期限为三年,但只要需要该工人,就可以无限期续签。 与 H-1B 签证不同,每年可获得的 O-1 签证数量没有限制。 因此,O-1签证通常被认为是H-1B签证的替代。O-1也需要雇主的支持。 O-1签证持有人获得绿卡的典型途径是通过 申请 EB-1A特殊技能人才签证 ,这可以在没有雇主支持的情况下完成。 

什么是双重意图?

双重意图的概念允许外国人在持有临时非移民身份的同时申请 永久居留在美国。

这意味着即使他们有移民意图,他们也可以通过临时签证获准入境,而其他人如果有移民意图,将被阻止入境。该原则承认一个人意图的双重性。

允许双重意图的常见临时工作签证包括:

由于 O-1 签证的特殊性,那些拥有 O-1 身份或正在考虑获得 O-1 身份的人如果计划在今后的一段时间内获得绿卡,应就意图问题咨询移民律师。在此处阅读有关 O-1 和 H-1B 双重意图差异的更多信息。

您什么时候应该聘请工作签证律师?

美国的移民法有许多复杂性,法律界以外的人并不知道。尝试自己解决可能会导致严重的问题,如果您犯了错误,包括失去您的就业授权,甚至被置于遣返或驱逐出境程序中。

在 美国陆律师事务所,我们与雇主和他们的员工合作,为他们寻找最佳签证选择,这将使外籍员工可以按时入职。

我们在帮助初创公司申请工作签证方面特别有经验。例如,在H-1B签证申请中,雇主需要证明他们有经济能力支付现行工资。然而,许多初创公司在申请H-1B时可能还没有进行实质性运营。他们也没有前几年的纳税申报表来证明雇主的财务状况。尽管缺乏历史财务文件可能会使初创公司更难获得员工 H-1B 申请的批准,但我们将建议雇主寻找替代文件来加强他们的案例。我们根据每个案例的独特情况定制文件清单。在我们的指导下,许多初创雇主的 H-1B 申请取得了成功。如需免费咨询和有关工作签证选项的更多信息, 联系 今天我们在陆律师事务所的团队。

版权所有 © 2024 陆律师事务所。 版权所有。

EnglishChinese (Simplified)

Work Visa Attorney San Francisco

A work visa allows you to live and work in the United States for a predetermined period of time. There are many types of work visas available in the U.S., and if you’re looking for a work visa attorney, Law Office of Lu & Associates located in San Francisco can help you learn more about the best options for your qualifications and your unique situation.

Here are the basics of work visas and immigration law regarding them.

What Are Work Visas?

Work visas grant a foreign national a temporary work permit. Work visas are approved for a certain period of time, but you can increase that period of time with extensions and renewals.

Work visas fall into the category of non-immigrant visas, which means that they do not lead to permanent residency or a green card.

The visa application process must be initiated by your employer, who should file petitions with U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). For certain type of work visa, such as the H-1B visa, foreign nationals who are subject to the numeral cap must join the lottery. If selected, the H-1B petition shall be filed within a designated period of time. 

As a beneficiary of the work visa petition, if you are in the U.S. with a valid non-immigrant status, such as F-1, you may indicate on the work visa petition that you will change your status from that nonimmigrant status to the status that will be granted by the work visa petition. If you live abroad, you will need to go through the consular processing, or visa interview, upon the approval of your temporary work visa. 

What Is Premium Processing?

There's no processing time guarantee for most applications sent to U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). It typically takes several months or even years.

However, it's possible to pay extra for premium processing. This option guarantees that USCIS will make a decision on your application within 15 days, whether they approve, deny, or ask for more documentation.

If you are operating on a strict timeline, this is an excellent option to consider.

Who Is Eligible for Work Visas?

Since there are so many types of work visas, there are as many ways to meet the eligibility requirements.

Generally speaking, you must have employment in the U.S. in order to obtain a work visa. Employers will petition for your visa on your behalf. Depending on your situation, you may be eligible for two or more types of work visas. Talk to our attorney to find out what your best option will be. 

What Are the Work Visas Options?

There are many types of work visas available, each for a different situation. You may find a complete list of the work visa options at the USCIS’s official website.

H-1B Visa

The H-1B visa enables employers to temporarily employ foreign workers in specialty occupations. A specialty occupation is one that requires the application of a body of highly specialized knowledge and the attainment of at least a bachelor’s degree or its equivalent. 

As an H-1B nonimmigrant, you may be admitted for a period of stay for up to three years. This time period may be extended, but generally cannot go beyond a total of six years, though some exceptions do apply under sections 104(c) and 106(a) of the American Competitiveness in the Twenty-First Century Act (AC21). The time an H-1B visa holder spends outside the U.S. does not count against the six-year limit, as foreign workers are permitted to recapture time spent abroad while their H-1B status is valid. 

If you previously worked on the H-1B status for less than 6 years and have been physically absent from the U.S. for more than 1 year but less than 6 years, you will be eligible for a fresh 6 years in the H status. That is, the six-year clock "resets". You may also choose to receive the remainder of the time left over from the initial period. The benefit of the second choice is that you do not need to participate into the H-1B lottery again because you are considered as counted against the H-1B cap already.

The H-1B visa has an annual numerical limit "cap" of 65,000 visas each fiscal year. The first 20,000 petitions filed on behalf of foreign workers with a U.S. master’s degree or higher are exempt from the cap. 

L-1 Visa

The L-1 nonimmigrant category is available to individuals who have worked for a foreign corporation that has a parent, subsidiary, branch or affiliate company in the U.S. The individual must have been employed in an executive or managerial position (L-1A), or in a specialized knowledge capacity (L-1B) for the foreign company.

In reviewing the L-1 petitions, the USCIS looks closely at the following issues:

  1. The qualifying relationship between the U.S. entity and the foreign entity;
  2. Job descriptions and individual qualifications when determining if the transferee fit for his/her capacity as a manager/executive, or a person with specialized knowledge. .

We highly recommend that you obtain professional assistance from an experienced immigration lawyer, considering the complexity of this type of work visa application. 

How long is the L-1 visa valid for?

L-1 status is generally approved for an initial period of three years. However, if the U.S. entity is a start-up company, the initial validity period is only good for one year. Be sure to extend your stay with help from a work visa lawyer before the expiration of the initial validity period. The L-1A (manager/executive) can be extended up to a statutory limit of seven years; the L-1B (specialized knowledge) is limited to a total of five years. 

O-1 Visa

The O-1 nonimmigrant visa is for the individual who possesses extraordinary ability in the sciences, arts, education, business, or athletics (O-1A visa), or who has a demonstrated record of extraordinary achievement in the motion picture or television industry and has been recognized nationally or internationally for those achievements (O-1B visa).

The O-1 visa offers an initial period of stay of three years, but may be renewed indefinitely, for as long as the worker is needed. Unlike H-1B visas, there is no limitation on the number of O-1 visas available annually. Therefore, the O-1 visa is often considered as an alternative to the H-1B visa. O-1 also needs sponsorship from employers. The typical route for O-1 visa holders to obtain their green cards is through EB-1A Aliens of Extraordinary Ability , which can be done without the employer’s sponsorship. 

What Is Dual Intent?

The concept of Dual Intent allows a foreign national to hold a temporary nonimmigrant status while at the same time applying for permanent residency in the United States.

That means they can be admitted on their temporary visas even if they have immigrant intent, while others will be prevented from entry if they have immigrant intent. This principle recognizes the dual nature of a person's intent.

Common temporary work visas allowing for dual intent include:

Due to the special nature of the O-1 visa, those who either have O-1 status or who are considering to get O-1 status should consult an immigration lawyer about intent issues if they plan to obtain a green card some time in the future. Read more about the difference in dual intent for O-1 and H-1B here.

When Should You Hire a Work Visa Attorney?

Immigration law in the United States has many complexities that aren't known to people outside the legal profession. Attempting to navigate it on your own can result in serious problems, including losing your employment authorization or even being placed on removal or deportation proceedings, if you make mistakes.

At the Law Office of Lu & Associates, we work with employers and foreign nationals to find the best visa options for them, which will enable the foreign nationals to get on board on time.

We are especially experienced in helping startups with work visa applications. For example, in H-1B visa petitions, employers need to prove that they have the financial capability to pay for the prevailing wages. However, many startups may have not been in substantive operation at the time of H-1B filing. They don’t have tax return records from previous years to prove the employer's financial health, either. Though lacking historic financial documentation may make it harder for the startups to get approvals for their employees’ H-1B petitions, we will advise employers on finding alternative documents to strengthen their cases. We tailor our document checklist to the unique situation of each case. With our guidance, a number of startup employers have achieved success on their H-1B petitions. For a free consultation and more information on your work visa options, contact our team at the Law Office of Lu & Associates today.

Copyright © 2022 Law Office of Lu & Associates. All Rights Reserved.