EnglishChinese (Simplified)

O-1 签证

O-1非移民签证适用于在科学,艺术,教育,商业或体育方面具有非凡能力,或者在电影或电视行业中具有非凡成就并且那些成就在国内或国际上得到认可的个人。

谁可以申请O-1签证? 

O-1A:在科学,教育,商业或体育方面具有非凡能力的人(不包括艺术,电影或电视业)

O-1B:具有非凡艺术能力或电影或电视行业非凡成就的人

O-1签证的优点和局限是什么?

O-1签证的初始逗留期限为三年,但可以无限期续签只要该员工仍然被需要。 

与H-1B签证不同,每年可获得的O-1签证数量没有限制。 

O-1签证也被视为“双重意向”签证,但和H-1B签证或L签证不同,它不是完整的“双重意图”签证。在您递交移民签证申请(绿卡)之后但尚未批准之时,仍可申请O-1延期。 

此外,O-1身份也可被视为通向绿卡之路,因为该标准类似于EB-1A杰出人才的申请标准。 EB-1是以就业为基础的移民申请中获得绿卡的最快途径。 

O-1签证的另一个重要优势是,对于受J-1交换访问者计划的两年外国居住要求而且无法获得J-1豁免的外国人来说,这是一个可行的选择。当前或者曾经持有J-1或J-2身份的人不得获得H-1B或L-1签证身份,直到他们和/或主要J-1身份持有人在其J-1身份过期后在母国待了两年之后,或者获得两年居住要求的豁免之后。这些外国人可以在不满足两年居住要求或获得豁免要求的情况下获得O-1身份。  

O-1签证的限制是您的家属(在美国境内持有O-3身份)无法获得工作许可。此外,O-1签证持有人不能在不申请新签证的情况下换工作。

O-1和H-1B的双重意图有何不同?​

国土安全部已经确定,批准永久性劳工证明或提交移民申请不应成为拒绝O-1或O-3申请,申请延长O-1或O-3申请,外国人的入境请求和改变身份申请的依据。外国人可以合法地作为O-XNUMX或O-XNUMX非移民临时到美国,并在其授权逗留期满时自愿离开,同时合法寻求成为美国永久居民。

虽然O-1和H-1B非移民在劳工证明或移民申请问题上都承认双重意图原则,但O-1非移民在提交调整身份申请(I-485表格)后不享有相同的待遇:

持有H-1B身份的申请人在递交调整身份申请之后,如果希望在美国境外旅行并在I-485待决期间重新进入美国,可选择以H-1B身份,或根据提前假释进入。

虽然O-1身份持有人在递交调整身份申请之后仍然可以继续保持O-1身份(包括在必要时提交延长O-1期限的申请),但是希望进行国际旅行的O-1持有人在I-485待决期间重新进入美国则必须在离开美国前获得预先假释,否则调整身份申请将被视为放弃。持有提前假释身份重新进入美国的外国人,之后必须使用EAD卡,以便在调整身份申请待决期间继续为雇主工作。

O-1签证是否需要美国雇主的支持?

是的,美国雇主的工作机会是O-1签证的基本要求。 O-1签证由雇主提交,并附有个人非凡能力的证据。

O-1A的证据标准是什么?

为了达到O-1A签证标准,雇主人必须能够证明受益人具有非凡的能力并获得持续的国家或国际赞誉。如果该人获得了国际公认的重大奖项,例如奥运奖牌或普利策奖,或者至少完成了以下三项,则可以证明这一点:

  • 获得领域内国内或国际认可的奖项
  • 是领域内由国内或国际级的专家认可的著名团体或社团的成员
  • 领域内的专业或主要出版物对受益人及其工作成果有相关报道
  • 对科学、学术、或商业领域做出了重要的原创性贡献
  • 在专业期刊或领域内其他主要媒体上发表了文章
  • 在领域内获得高额的报酬
  • 个人或作为评委成员担任领域内其他人士作品或成就的评审
  • 在有名望的机构担任重要职位

如果上述标准不适用于受益人的职业,雇主可以提交类似证据,以确定受益人的资格。

O-1B的证据标准是什么?

对于O-1B申请人,他或她必须在努力领域被认为是杰出的。为了证明这种认可,申请人需要提供证明他或她已被提名或已获得特定领域的重要国家或国际奖项或奖项的文件,例如奥斯卡,艾美奖,格莱美奖或导演协会奖。或者,提交请愿书的雇主可以提交以下至少三种形式的文件:  

  • 曾经或即将在著名影视作品中担任主要角色(证明材料可包括影评、广告、新闻稿、发布会、合同等)
  • 其成就获得国内或国际认可(证明材料可包括影评或新闻、期刊、杂志或其他发表的材料)
  • 在著名机构或活动中担任或即将担任重要角色(证明材料可包括新闻、期刊、发表的材料或其他证明)
  • 获得丰厚的商业报酬或其他重大成功(证明材料可包括领域内头衔及评价、票房成绩、电影电视评价或其他出版物)
  • 获得过由领域内著名组织、专家、政府机构或其他专家认可的成就,该认可必须证明评价人的权威性以及对受益人成就的了解
  • 跟领域内其他人员相比获得高额的报酬或其他可观的薪酬(证明材料包括合同或其他可靠证据)

如果上述标准不适用于受益人在艺术领域的职业,请愿人可以提交类似证据以确定是否符合资格(此例外不适用于电影或电视行业)。

版权所有 © 2022 陆律师事务所。 版权所有。

O-1 Visa

The O-1 nonimmigrant visa is for the individual who possesses extraordinary ability in the sciences, arts, education, business, or athletics, or who has a demonstrated record of extraordinary achievement in the motion picture or television industry and has been recognized nationally or internationally for those achievements.

 

Who can apply for the O-1 visa? 

O-1A: individuals with an extraordinary ability in the sciences, education, business, or athletics (not including the arts, motion pictures or television industry)

O-1B: individuals with an extraordinary ability in the arts or extraordinary achievement in motion picture or television industry

 

What are the Advantages and Limitations of an O-1 visa?

The O-1 visa offers an initial period of stay of three years, but may be renewed indefinitely, for as long as the worker is needed. 

 

Unlike H-1B visa, there is no limitation on number of O-1 visas available annually. 

 

O-1 visa is also considered a “dual intent” visa, though it is not a complete “dual intent” visa like H-1B visa or L visa. You may have immigrant visa petitions (green card) pending, and still have no problem in applying for O-1 extensions. 

Additionally, O-1 status may also be considered a path to a green card since the criteria are similar to EB-1A Aliens of Extraordinary Ability self-petitions. EB-1 is the fastest route to a green card in employment based immigration petitions. 

 

Another important advantage of O-1 visa is that it is a viable option for aliens subject to the two-year foreign residency requirement of the J-1 exchange visitor program and cannot obtain a J-1 waiver. People who hold or have held J-1 or J-2 status are not permitted to obtain H-1B or L-1 visa status until they and or the primary J-1 status holder has spent two years in his/her home country after the expiration of the J-1 status, or a waiver of the two-year residency requirement is satisfied. These aliens may obtain O-1 status without fulfilling the two-year residency requirement or getting a waiver of the requirement.  

 

A limitation of O-1 visa is that your dependents, which would be in the U.S. on O-3 status, are unable to obtain work authorization. Further, the O-1 visa holder cannot change jobs without applying for a new visa.


What is the difference in dual intent for O-1 and H-1B?

DHS has determined that the approval of a permanent labor certification or the filing of a preference petition for an alien shall not be a basis for denying an O-1 or O-3 petition, a request to extend such a petition, or the alien’s application for admission, change of status, or extension of stay.  The alien may legitimately come to the United States for a temporary period as an O-1 or O-3 nonimmigrant and depart voluntarily at the end of his or her authorized stay and, at the same time, lawfully seek to become a permanent resident of the United States.

 

Although the doctrine of dual intent is recognized for both O-1 and H-1B nonimmigrants on the question of labor certifications or immigrant petitions, O-1 nonimmigrants do not enjoy the same treatment after an application for adjustment of status (Form I-485) is filed:

 

An H-1B applicant for adjustment of status who wishes to travel outside the United States and reenter while the I-485 is pending can elect to travel either as an H-1B, or on the basis of advance parole.

 

Although an O-1 applicant for adjustment of status can continue in O-1 status while an application for adjustment of status is pending (including filing for extension of O-1 stay when necessary), an O-1 adjustment applicant who wishes to travel outside the United States and reenter while the I-485 is pending must, like all adjustment applicants except H-1B and L, obtain advance parole before departing, or else the adjustment application will be considered abandoned. Reentering on advance parole (i.e. as an advance parolee) would also require the alien to have an EAD card in order to continue working for the employer while the adjustment application is pending.

Does O-1 visa need sponsorship from a U.S. employer?

Yes, a job offer from a U.S. employer is a basic requirement for the O-1 visa. The O-1 visa is filed by the employer, along with the evidence of the individual’s extraordinary ability.

 

What are the evidentiary criteria for O-1A?

To meet the O-1A visa standards, the applicant must be able to show extraordinary ability and receipt of sustained national or international acclaim for it. This can be demonstrated if the person has gotten a major internationally recognized award, such as an Olympic medal or a Pulitzer Prize, or has accomplished at least three of the following:

 

  • Receipt of nationally or internationally recognized prizes or awards for excellence in the field of endeavor

  • Membership in associations in the field for which classification is sought which require outstanding achievements, as judged by recognized national or international experts in the field

  • Published material in professional or major trade publications, newspapers or other major media about the beneficiary and the beneficiary’s work in the field for which classification is sought

  • Original scientific, scholarly, or business-related contributions of major significance in the field

  • Authorship of scholarly articles in professional journals or other major media in the field for which classification is sought

  • A high salary or other remuneration for services as evidenced by contracts or other reliable evidence

  • Participation on a panel, or individually, as a judge of the work of others in the same or in a field of specialization allied to that field for which classification is sought

  • Employment in a critical or essential capacity for organizations and establishments that have a distinguished reputation

If the above criteria do not readily apply to the beneficiary’s occupation, the petitioner may submit comparable evidence in order to establish the beneficiary’s eligibility.

 

What are the evidentiary criteria for O-1B?

For O-1B applicant, he or she must be recognized as prominent in the field of endeavor. To demonstrate such recognition, the applicant will need to supply documents showing that he or she has been nominated for or have received significant national or international awards or prizes in the particular field, such as an Oscar, Emmy, Grammy, or Director’s Guild Award. Alternately, the employer filing the petition can submit at least three of the following forms of documentation:  

 

  • Performed and will perform services as a lead or starring participant in productions or events which have a distinguished reputation as evidenced by critical reviews, advertisements, publicity releases, publications, contracts or endorsements

  • Achieved national or international recognition for achievements, as shown by critical reviews or other published materials by or about the beneficiary in major newspapers, trade journals, magazines, or other publications

  • Performed and will perform in a lead, starring, or critical role for organizations and establishments that have a distinguished reputation as evidenced by articles in newspapers, trade journals, publications, or testimonials.

  • A record of major commercial or critically acclaimed successes, as shown by such indicators as title, rating or standing in the field, box office receipts, motion picture or television ratings and other occupational achievements reported in trade journals, major newspapers or other publications

  • Received significant recognition for achievements from organizations, critics, government agencies or other recognized experts in the field in which the beneficiary is engaged, with the testimonials clearly indicating the author's authority, expertise and knowledge of the beneficiary's achievements

  • A high salary or other substantial remuneration for services in relation to others in the field, as shown by contracts or other reliable evidence

 

If the above standards do not readily apply to the beneficiary’s occupation in the arts, the petitioner may submit comparable evidence in order to establish eligibility (this exception does not apply to the motion picture or television industry).

© 2019 by Law Office of Lu & Associates.