EnglishChinese (Simplified)

L-1签证律师

什么是 L-1 签证?

L-1签证是非移民类别的工作签证,它适用于在美国和其他国家有商业机构的跨国公司从外国公司调派高级经理或者行政主管 (L-1A)、或拥有特殊专业知识的技术人员 (L-1B)来美国公司工作。

L-1 签证允许跨国公司将员工从其外国公司转移到其美国公司。 这是一种非移民签证,允许L-1持有人在规定的一段时间内在美国生活和工作。 但是,由于它是双重意向签证,L-1 签证持有人也可以在不损害其 L-1 身份的情况下在美国寻求永久居留权。

谁有资格获得 L-1A 签证?

此类签证授予将​​担任高级经理或行政主管职务的员工。

如果申请的是 L-1A 身份,则在美国所从事的工作必须具有高级经理或行政主管的职能。 这种分类的一个重要优势是,L-1A 高管或经理通常有资格通过第一优先获得美国的永久居留权。 这允许跨国经理或高管申请永久居留权时无需经过复杂的劳工认证程序。

  1. 美国联邦法律将“管理能力”定义为在公司内部,该员工主要的工作是:(1)管理整个公司、部门、支部、公司职能或者公司的组成部分;(2)领导并控制其他员工的工作,或者管理公司的主要功能,或者有权力招聘并在公司内部起到高层领导作用;(3)有权力自由裁量公司日复一日的活动及功能运作。(详见法条8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(B))
  2. 法律规定“执行/行政职能”为直接管理公司或者其主要组成部分、功能;设立公司目标及政策;能够自由地进行决策以及仅受更高层人员的领导。(详见法条8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(C))

谁有资格获得 L-1B 签证?

L-1B 类签证授予具有专业知识的员工。

如果申请的是L-1B 身份,则在美国所从事的工作必须涉及专业知识的使用。 法律将“专业知识”定义为一个人所拥有的特定的知识,为该提出申请的公司的产品、服务、研究、设备、技术、管理或者其他财产和它的国际市场服务,或者在该公司的运作过程在知识层面或专业程度处于先进地位。(详见法条8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(D))

雇主如何符合获得 L-1 签证的资格?

在雇主开始申请L-1签证之前,他们必须满足一些特定的要求。

合格公司关系

以下的身份关系能够支持L-1签证: 1. 母子公司关系-母公司直接或者间接拥有子公司,须拥有对子公司超过一半的股权且有控制力;或者,在50-50形式的合资企业中直接或间接拥有50%的股份并且有相等的控制和投票权;或者,直接或间接拥有一半以下的公司股份,但实际控制该公司。 2. 下属关系—两个子公司中的其中一个,该俩子公司均被同一群个人所控制,且这群个人中的每个人对这两个子公司均拥有并控制近乎相同的比例。

在美国境内经营

必须提交文件用以证明该提出申请的公司正在美国进行足够有效的商业活动,来支持雇佣这个外籍员工的必要性。这项规定对于刚刚在美国新成立的提出申请的公司来说非常重要。对此,新成立的公司需要注意搜集证据,证明新公司的L-1雇主在美国进行商业运作的能力。

L-1 签证的费用是多少?

您的雇主需要支付大部分 USCIS 费用,因为 L-1 签证是一种需要得到雇主支持的工作签证。

与 L-1 申请相关的费用是:

  • USCIS 申请费:任何 I-129 申请的标准申请费为 460 美元。 此费用适用于新的 L-1 签证以及 L-1 延期。
  • 打假费:500 美元。 它适用于所有首次 L-1 签证申请,但对于同一雇主的 L-1 签证延期或从 L-1A 到 L-1B 或从 L-1B 到 L-1A 的身份变更则不需要支付此费用。如果已经处于 L-1 非移民身份的外国工人需要更换雇主,或开始新的兼职工作,则需要支付此费用。。
  • 公共法律114-113 费用:在美国雇用50名及以上员工的 雇主,如果这些员工中有 50% 以上处于 H-1B、L-1A 或 L-1B 非移民身份,则必须支付 4,500 美元的 公共法律费用。当需要支付打假费时,通常也需要支付该公共法律费用。
  • 加急处理费:加急处理费不是强制性的。 将美国移民局处理您的申请所需的时间从几个月缩短到 15 天是一个不错的选择,费用为 2,500 美元。
  • 律师费: 不同移民律师事务所的律师费差别很大。 律师通常收取固定费用。 考虑到 L-1 签证申请需要大量支持证据,聘请一位您可以信任的律师将非常有帮助。

如何支付 L-1 签证费用?

您必须以美元按确切金额提交所有费用。 美国移民局接受在美国的银行或其他金融机构开出的支票和汇票。 确保支票或汇票的收款人为美国国土安全部。 提交错误的费用将导致美国移民局拒绝您的 L-1 申请。 聘请移民律师可以避免弄错费用。

是什么导致 L-1 签证被拒?

如果准备不充分,L-1 签证申请可能会被拒绝。 拒绝的最常见原因是:

  1. 提交申请的美国雇主未能证明受益人,即外国工人,将在美国履行合格的高级经理或行政主管的职能( L-1A),或拥有被视为特殊或先进的知识(L-1B)
  2. 提出申请的美国雇主未能证明其与受益人工作或工作的外国实体存在合格关系。

通常,美国移民局会在发出拒绝决定之前发出补件通知 (RFE) 或拒绝意向通知 (NOID)。 申请人将被给予一个机会回答 RFE 或 NOID。 移民律师可以帮助您组织整理所要求的额外的证据,以解答美国移民局的疑虑。

L-1 和 H-1B 签证有什么区别?

L-1 和 H-1B 签证是两种最常用​​的非移民工作签证,它们允许外国人在美国生活和工作一段特定的时间。 他们都需要雇主支持并且是双重意向签证,这意味着申请人的H-1B 或 L-1 签证申请不能仅仅因为申请人提交了移民申请,显示出了移民意向而被拒绝。

这两种签证虽然有很多相似之处,但也有很大的不同。

L-1 签证要求提出申请的美国公司和外国公司处于合格关系。 申请人必须证明该外国工人的外国雇主和拟议的美国雇主是同一雇主(即一个具有多个“分支机构”的实体),或作为“母公司和子公司”或“附属公司”相关联。 H-1B签证没有这个要求。 任何美国雇主都可以提交 H-1B 签证的申请。 L-1 和 H-1B 签证的受益人也不同。 对于 L-1 签证,受益人必须是高级经理或行政主管,或具有专业知识的人。 但是,L-1没有学位要求。 H-1B 签证要求受益人至少拥有学士学位或同等学历。 受益人可以从事与其学术背景相符的任何专业职业。 H-1B 雇主需要向 H-1B 雇员支付现行工资,而 L-1 雇主只需支付高于最低工资的工资。

当H-1B签证的数量达到年度上限时,L-1 签证可以替代 H-1B 签证,因为每年授予申请人的 L1 签证数量没有限制或上限。 L-1 签证还可以提供更快的途径获得永久居留权。 L-1A 签证持有人通常以高级经理或行政主管的身份在 EB-1C 类别下提交绿卡申请。 EB-1C 类别通常没有排期。 相比之下,大多数 H-1B 签证持有人将获得 EB-2 或 EB-3 类别下的绿卡。 对于中国大陆出生的申请人和印度出生的申请人,EB-2或EB-3类别的签证积压时间为2-10年,甚至更长。

律师如何帮助您处理 L-1 签证申请?

在您或您的雇主开始申请之前,我们将确保您符合资格要求。 如果您不满足这些要求,我们将帮助您找到替代解决方案。

如果您正在设立新的美国公司并希望通过该公司申请 L-1 签证,我们建议您尽快聘请经验丰富的 L-1 签证律师。 在建立合格公司关系时,您需要移民律师的指导。 美国移民局对于“新办公室”的情况使用更严格的审查标准。

收到 补件(RFE)或拒绝意向通知 (NOID) 可能会让您感到担忧。 作为经验丰富的移民律师事务所,我们将能够与您分享许多成功的经验。 我们的 L-1 签证律师将与您一起分析 RFE 或 NOID,找出美国移民局提出的问题,并提出我们的解决方案。 我们将专门针对美国移民局的要求制定一份文件清单。 您唯一的工作就是收集我们为您创建的文件清单上显示的文件。

如需有关 L-1 签证申请、延期和续签问题的帮助,请立即联系美国陆律师事务所的团队。

版权所有 © 2022 陆律师事务所。 版权所有。

EnglishChinese (Simplified)

L-1 Visa Lawyer

What is an L-1 Visa?

The L-1 nonimmigrant category is available to individuals who have worked for a foreign corporation that has a parent, subsidiary, branch or affiliate company in the U.S. The individual must have been employed in an executive or managerial position (L-1A), or in a specialized knowledge capacity (L-1B) for the foreign company. 

L-1 visa allows multinational companies to transfer employees from their foreign offices into their U.S. offices. It's a non-immigrant visa that allows the recipient to live and work in the United States for a predetermined period of time. However, because it is a dual intent visa, L-1 visa holders can also pursue permanent residency in the U.S. without harming their L-1 status.

Who Qualifies for an L-1A Visa? 

This type of visa is granted to employees who will be working in a managerial or executive capacity.

If the petition is for L-1A status, the prospective employment in the United States must be of managerial or executive capacity. One important advantage to this classification is that an L-1A executive or manager will often be eligible for “Priority Worker” classification for permanent residence. This allows the multinational manager or executive to apply for permanent residency without undergoing the extensive process of labor certification.

  1. The Code of Federal Regulations (“CFR”) defines “managerial capacity” as an assignment within an organization in which the employee primarily: (1) manages the organization, or a department, subdivision, function, or component thereof; (2) supervises and controls the work of other employees, or manages an essential function within the organization, has authority to hire and functions at a senior level within the organization; (3) exercises discretion over day-to-day operations of the activity or function for which the employee has authority. 8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(B).
  2. The CFR defines “executive capacity” to mean an assignment within an organization in which the employee primarily directs the management of the organization or a major component or function thereof; establishes goals and policies; exercises wide latitude in discretionary decision-making and receives only general supervision from higher level personnel. 8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(C). 

Who Qualifies for an L-1B Visa?

An L-1B type of visa is granted to specialized knowledge employees.

If the petition is one for L-1B status, the prospective employment in the United States must involve the use of specialized knowledge. The CFR defines “specialized knowledge” as a special knowledge possessed by an individual of the petitioning organization’s product, service, research, equipment, techniques, management, or other interests and its application in international markets, or an advanced level of knowledge or expertise in the organization’s processes and procedures. 8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(D). 

How Does an Employer Qualify for an L-1 Visa?

Before an employer starts a visa petition, they must meet certain requirements. 

Qualifying Relationship

To qualify for L-1 classification in this category, the employer must have a qualifying relationship with a foreign company (parent company, branch, subsidiary, or affiliate, collectively referred to as qualifying organizations).

Doing Business in the United States

Documentation must be submitted to show that the petitioning company is doing sufficient business in the United States to support the employment of the L-1 foreign national. This is especially important when the petitioning employer is a start-up company, newly established in the United States. Particular attention should be paid to documenting the ability of a new office L-1 employer to do business in the United States. 

How Much Does an L-1 Visa Cost?

Your employer is required to pay most of the USCIS fees because the L-1 visa is a type of employer-sponsored work visa. 

The typical fees that associated with L-1 petitions are:

  • USCIS Filing Fee: The standard filing fee for any I-129 petition is $460. This fee applies to new L-1 visas as well as L-1 extensions.
  • Fraud Prevention and Detection Fee: $500. It is applicable to all first time L-1 visa petitions but it is not required for L-1 visa extensions or change of status from L-1A to L-1B or from L-1B to L-1A with the same employer. Employers also need to pay this fee if a foreign worker already in L-1 nonimmigrant status needs to change employers, or begin new concurrent employment.
  • Public Law 114-113 Fee: L-1 employers that employ 50 or more employees in the United States if more than 50 percent of these employees are in H-1B, L-1A or L-1B nonimmigrant status must pay the $4,500 Public Law fee. This fee is usually required when the Fraud Prevention and Detection Fee is also required.
  • Premium Processing Fee: Premium Processing Fee is not mandatory. It is a nice option to shorten the amount of time it takes for USCIS to process your petition from months to 15 calendar days for a fee of $ 2,500.
  • Legal Fee: The legal fee varies greatly among different immigration law firms. A flat fee is usually charged. Considering that L-1 visa petitions require a multitude of supporting evidence, hiring an attorney that you can trust will be very helpful. 

How to Make Payments for your L-1 Visa Fees

You must submit all fees in the exact amounts in U.S. currency. USCIS accepts checks and money orders that are drawn on a bank or other financial institution located in the United States. Make sure that the checks or money orders are made payable to the U.S.Department of Homeland Security. Submitting wrong fees will cause USCIS to reject your L-1 petition. Working with an immigration attorney is a great way to avoid complications with your fees.

What Causes an L-1 Visa to Be Denied?

If not prepared well, an L-1 visa petition may be denied. The most common reasons for the denials are

  1. The petitioning U.S. employer fails to establish that the beneficiary, i.e. the foreign worker, would be employed in the United States in a qualifying managerial or executive capacity (for L-1A) or possess knowledge deemed either special or advanced (for L-1B). 
  2. The petitioning U.S. employer fails to establish that it has a qualifying relationship with the foreign entity where the beneficiary works or worked.

Usually, USCIS will issue a Request for Evidence (RFE) or Notice of Intent to Deny (NOID) before a decision of denial is issued. The petitioners are given a chance to answer the RFE or NOID. Immigration lawyers can help you reorganize the additional evidence that will answer the doubts of USCIS. 

What is the difference between an L-1 and H-1B Visa?

The L-1 and the H-1B visas are the two most sought-after non-immigrant work visas that allow foreign nationals to live and work in the United States for a certain period of time. They both need employer sponsorship and are dual intent visas, which means that the applicant cannot be denied his or her H-1B or L-1 visa application simply because he/she has demonstrated immigrant intent by filing an immigration petition.

Though these two types of visas share many similarities, they are also very different.

The L-1 visa requires the U.S. petitioning entity and the foreign entity to be in a qualifying relationship. The petitioner must show that the foreign worker’s foreign employer and the proposed U.S. employer are the same employer (i.e. one entity with “branch” offices), or related as a “parent and subsidiary” or as “affiliates”. H-1B visa does not have this requirement. Any U.S. employer can be a sponsor for the H-1B visa. The beneficiaries for the L-1 and H-1B visas are also different. For the L-1 visa, the beneficiary must either be a managerial or executive employee, or a person with specialized knowledge. However, there is no degree requirement. H-1B visa requires the beneficiary to possess at least a bachelor’s degree or its equivalent. The beneficiary can work on any speciality occupation that is in line with his/her academic background. The H-1B employers need to pay prevailing wages to H-1B employees while L-1 employers just need to pay higher than the minimum wage. 

The L-1 visa can be a possible alternative to the H-1B visa when the H-1B annual cap is reached, because there is no limit or cap on the number of L1 visas granted to applicants each year. The L-1 visa may also provide a faster route to permanent residency. L-1A visa holders usually file their green card applications under the EB-1C category as an international manager or executive. The EB-1C category usually does not have visa backlogs. In contrast, most H-1B visa holders will get green cards under the EB-2 or EB-3 category. For China mainland born applicants and India born applicants, the visa backlogs for the categories of EB-2 or EB-3 range from 2-10 years or even more. 

How Can a Lawyer Help With Your L-1 Visa Application?

Before you or your employer begin the application, we will ensure you meet the eligibility requirements. If you do not meet those requirements, we will help you find out alternative solutions. 

If you are setting up a new U.S. office and wishing to apply for the L-1 visa through this U.S. entity, we recommend you engage an experienced L-1 visa lawyer as soon as you can. You will need guidance from your immigration attorney when establishing the qualifying relationship. USCIS uses a more stringent review standard in the “new office” situation. 

Receiving an RFE or Notice of Intent to Deny (NOID) might make you feel worried. As a seasoned immigration law firm, we will be able to share many successful experiences with you. Our L-1 visa lawyer will analyze the RFE or NOID with you, pinpoint the issues raised by USCIS and propose our solutions. We will develop a document checklist specifically tailored to the USCIS requests. Your only job will be just collecting the documents shown on the document checklist that we create for you. 

For assistance with issues related to L-1 visa applications, extensions, and renewals, contact our team at the Law Office of Lu & Associates today.

Copyright © 2021 Law Office of Lu & Associates. All Rights Reserved.