EnglishChinese (Simplified)

如何在旧金山找到最好的移民律师

2021年12月27日 |

作者:Elissa (Ying) Lu

从历史上看,旧金山一直是移民的门户。 天使岛是美国的移民站。 500,000年至80年间,它处理了来自1910个国家的约1940名移民,并获得了“西部埃利斯岛”的称号。

今天,旧金山是一个多元文化的城市,是吸引和欢迎来自世界各地的人们的技术和创新中心。 一踏上美国这片土地,移民问题就会成为与你的日常生活息息相关的不可回避的话题。

在陆律师事务所,我们为企业和个人提供有关移民法的法律服务。 我们的使命是为我们的客户提供应得的强大且经验丰富的法律代理。

移民律师如何提供帮助

您无需聘请移民律师为您处理任何移民或非移民事务。 但是,知识渊博的律师会为您提供实践指导,这可以增加批准的机会。

选择一位经验丰富的律师非常重要,她可以带您完成复杂、时间敏感和耗时的过程。 即使是一个小错误也可能导致延误、要求提供额外证据、拒绝甚至驱逐出境。

如果您的案件很复杂,例如涉及签证逾期逗留、犯罪记录或未经授权的就业等,请与移民律师交谈。

此外,当您不确定自己在美国的身份时,应立即咨询移民律师,以免日后遇到不必要的麻烦。

此外,当您有移民律师代表您时,您可能会及时收到有关法律和程序变更的通知, 这可能会完全改变您的申请结果。 例如,F-1 OPT 的申请人必须在特定时间段内提交 I-765 表格。 但是,Covid-19 导致USCIS Lockbox延迟对某些不符合条件的申请发出拒绝通知。 意识到这个问题后,美国移民局于 765 年 26 月 2021 日宣布,如果满足以下条件,则USCIS将接受重新递交的OPT 和STEM OPT I-765申请,且将重新递交的申请视为是在原始提交日期提交: 在1年2020月1日或之后至2021年31月2021日(含),收到了及时提交的原始申请;和移民局随后拒绝了它。该类重新递交的I-765申请必须在XNUMX年XNUMX月XNUMX日之前递交到USCIS。如果申请人没有由移民律师代理,他/她可能不知道被拒绝的 I-XNUMX 表格申请可以重新提交。 申请窗口只存在了大约三个月。 在不知道此更新的情况下,申请人将错过重新申请的机会以及他/她在美国工作的机会。

最好的移民律师是听取客户意见的专业人士。 他们分析您的案件,告诉您案件的优缺点,与您一起制定制胜策略,指导您收集哪些证明文件,及时归档您的案件,并最大限度地降低失败的风险。

如何寻找最佳移民律师

如果您想聘请最好的移民律师,您应该寻找在您需要服务的移民法领域具有丰富经验的人。

美国移民法庞大而复杂。 律师只知道基础知识并不能处理复杂的问题。 如果单个律师在多个法律领域执业(例如,同时从事移民法以及家庭法和人身伤害等),除非是一家拥有不同律师处理不同执业领域的大型律师事务所,否则这应该是一个危险信号。 就像看医生一样,当您有严重的问题需要解决时,您希望看专科医生而不是家庭医生。 当您需要移民服务时,您应该找移民律师,而不是一个“全科”律师。

此外,当您寻找最好的移民律师时,最好选择在您打算申请的类别有丰富经验的专业律师。 移民法可以分为很多类别,例如基于家庭的移民,基于就业的移民,非移民签证,驱逐出境,庇护等。 很少有移民律师可以精通移民法的所有领域。 庇护律师可能对 EB-5 投资移民签证不够熟悉,因为移民法的每个子类别都涉及大量的法律、法规、判例法和程序更新。

一名优秀的移民律师一定是具有丰富的实战经验。

哪里可以找到旧金山最好的移民律师

首先,一定要联系有执照的“移民律师”,而不是“移民顾问”或“签证顾问”,因为后者是不允许提供法律服务的。

律师必须完成严格的法律教育,通过律师考试,在州律师协会注册,并在成为律师后满足继续法律教育的要求。

请注意,移民法是一项联邦法律。 在任何州律师协会注册的律师可以在任何州从事移民法工作。

然而,移民顾问的服务非常有限。 他们可能会帮助您填写表格,但他们提供法律建议是违法的,因为他们没有获得法律执业许可。 由于缺乏培训,移民顾问可能会给您错误的信息或弄乱文书工作。 与移民顾问打交道的结果可能会不可逆转地破坏您的案件。

找到一个好的移民律师的最好方法就是口耳相传。 您与特定移民律师合作过的朋友和家人会为您提供比您在互联网和社交媒体上能找到的更多信息。

谷歌评论为您提供律师口碑的借鉴。 Google Review 提供了有关客户在律师或律师事务所的经历的宝贵信息。 据统计,89%的消费者阅读过谷歌评论并根据他们做出决定。 阅读我们公司的客户证词 此处.

关于移民律师信息的另一个很好的在线来源是美国移民律师协会 AILA。 AILA 是一个信誉良好的专业组织,大多数移民律师都加入了该组织。 但是,AILA 不提供其成员的评级。

优秀的移民律师从未受到州律师协会的处罚。 联系接纳移民律师的州律师协会,了解该律师过去是否有过投诉或纪律处分。

在你选择了几个候选人之后,你应该面试移民律师。 许多律师事务所提供 免费的初步咨询,包括陆律师事务所。 您应该通过电话、Zoom 或亲自进行咨询。 这是您提出问题并确定您的需求是否与律师的专业知识相匹配的机会。

移民案件具有时间敏感性,您的移民律师在合理的时间范围内保留答复非常重要。 询问律师他或她通常需要多长时间才能回复您,他​​们在与您类似的案件中的经验水平以及您的案件将如何处理。 通过提问,您将对移民律师进行比较。 密切关注律师对您的问题的了解程度、解决问题的技巧、沟通技巧和个性。 移民是一个漫长的过程; 你需要和你喜欢和信任的人一起工作。

询问律师他/她的服务费用是多少。 请注意极低的价格,因为答复补件 (RFE) 或答复拒绝意向通知 (NOID) 可能存在隐藏成本。 如果您没有看到有关 RFE 或 NOID 的条款,请询问。 在比较价格时,律师的经验值往往是需要率先被考虑的。

陆律师事务所如何为您提供帮助

Lu & Associates 律师事务所在以下移民法领域执业:

- 临时工作签证;

- 基于就业的移民;

- 投资移民;

- 以家庭为基础的移民; 和

- 通过入籍获得公民身份。

Lu & Associates 律师事务所的律师在帮助客户实现移民目标方面保持着出色的业绩记录。 陆律师事务所的团队真诚地为客户着想,对正义充满热情。

如果您想安排面对面或电话/Zoom 咨询,请给我们发送电子邮件至 info@uslulaw.com 或者给我们打电话 (415) 992-8806. 或者,您也可以方便地安排您的 免费初步咨询 在我们的网站上。 我们期待着与您的合作!

版权所有 © 2022 陆律师事务所。 版权所有。

EnglishChinese (Simplified)

How to Find the Best Immigration Lawyer in San Francisco

Published by: admin | December 27, 2021 |

By Elissa (Ying) Lu

Historically San Francisco had been an immigrant gateway. Angel Island was a U.S. Immigration station. It processed around 500,000 immigrants from 80 countries between 1910 and 1940 and earned the name of “Ellis Island of the West”.

Today San Francisco is a multi-cultural city, the center of the technologies and innovations that attracts and welcomes people from all over the world. As soon as you step on the land of the United States, immigration issues will become unavoidable topics closely related to your daily life.

At the Law Office of Lu & Associates we provide legal services on the immigration law to businesses and individuals. Our mission is to provide strong and experienced representation our clients deserve.

How Immigration Lawyers Can Help

You are not required to retain an immigration attorney to present you in any immigrant or nonimmigrant matters. However, a knowledgeable attorney will give you hands-on guidance, which can increase the chances of approval.

It is very important to choose an experienced attorney who can walk you through the complicated, time sensitive and time-consuming process. Even a small mistake can be the reason of delays, requests for the additional evidence, denials or even deportation.

Speak with an immigration attorney if your case is complicated, such as involving a visa overstay, a criminal record, or unauthorized employment, etc.

In addition, whenever you are not sure about your status in the United States, you should consult an immigration attorney immediately, which may avoid unnecessary hassles you may encounter in the future.

Furthermore, when you have an immigration attorney representing you, you may be notified about changes of laws and procedures timely. This may completely change the outcome of your application. For example, applicants for F-1 OPT must file the Form I-765 during certain timeframes. However, Covid-19 has caused lockbox delays in issuing notice of rejection. Some applicants who timely filed Form I-765 for OPT and whose applications were later rejected are unable to timely refile within the required application timeframes. Realizing this problem, USCIS announced on February 26, 2021 that it would accept a refiled Form I-765 for OPT and STEM OPT if the original, timely filed application was received on or after October 1, 2020, through May 1, 2021, but USCIS subsequently rejected it. USCIS also announced that refiled applications must be received by May 31, 2021. If the applicant was not represented by an immigration lawyer, he/she may be unaware of that the rejected Form I-765 application could be resubmitted. The filing window was only alive for about three months. Without knowing this update, the applicant will miss the refiling opportunity and his/her opportunity to work in the U.S. as well.

Best immigration attorneys are professionals who listen to their clients. They analyze your case, tell you about the strengths and weaknesses of the case, build the winning strategies together with you, instruct you what supporting documents to collect, file your case in a timely manner, and minimize the risks of failure.

What to Look for in Finding a Best Immigration Attorney

If you want to hire a best immigration attorney, you should look for someone with great experience in the area of immigration law where you need service.

U.S. Immigration law is vast and complex. A lawyer only knows the basics is not capable of handling the complexity. It should be a red flag if a single attorney is practicing multiple areas of law (e.g., practicing immigration law along with family law and personal injury etc.) unless it is a large law firm that has different attorneys handling different areas of practice. Just like seeing doctors, you would like to see a specialist rather than a general doctor when you have a serious problem to fix. When you need immigration services, you should find an immigration lawyer, not a general practitioner.

In addition, when you look for the best immigration lawyer, it is advisable to choose the lawyer who is specialized in the category where you intend to apply. Immigration law can be divided into many categories, such as family-based immigration, employment-based immigration, non-immigrant visas, deportation and removal, asylum etc. Please be aware of the lawyers who claim to be specialized in all areas of the immigration law. An asylum lawyer may not be familiar enough about the EB-5 investment immigration visa because each subcategory of the immigration law involves a tremendous amount of laws, regulations, case laws and procedure updates.

Experience defines a good immigration lawyer.

Where to Find the Best Immigration Lawyer in San Francisco

First of all, make sure to contact a licensed “immigration lawyer”, but not “immigration consultant”, or “visa consultant” because the latter is not allowed to practice law.

Lawyers are required to complete the rigid legal education, pass the bar exam, register with the State Bar Association, and fulfill the Continuing Legal Education requirements even after becoming a lawyer.

Please note that immigration law is a federal law. The attorney registered with any State Bar Association can practice immigration law in any state.

However, immigration consultants’ services are very limited. They may help you fill out a form, but it is illegal for them to provide legal advice since they are not licensed to practice law. Due to the lack of training, immigration consultants may give you wrong information or mess up with the paperwork. The outcome of dealing with immigration consultants may irreversibly destroy your case.

Probably the best way to find a good immigration attorney is the word-of-mouth. Your friends and family who worked with the particular immigration attorney would give you more information than you can find from the Internet and social media.

The contemporary style of word-of-mouth is Google Review. Google Review provides valuable information about clients’ experience with the attorney or the law firm. According to the statistics, 89% of consumers have read Google Review and made their decisions based on them. Read our firm’s client testimony here.

The other good online source of the information about immigration lawyers is AILA, the American Immigration Lawyers Association. AILA is a reputable, professional organization that the majority of the immigration attorneys join. However, AILA does not provide a rating of its members.

Good immigration lawyer has never been disciplined by the State Bar Association. Contact the State Bar where the immigration lawyer is admitted and find out if the lawyer had complaints or disciplinary actions in the past.

After you select several candidates, you should interview the immigration lawyers. Many law firms offer free initial consultations, including the Law Office of Lu & Associates. You should conduct the consultation via phone, Zoom or in person. This is an opportunity for you to ask questions and determine if your needs match the lawyer’s expertise.

Immigration cases are time sensitive, and it is very important that the immigration lawyer you retain responses within a reasonable time frame. Ask the lawyer how long it typically takes him or her to get back to you, their level of experience in similar cases like yours and how your case will be handled. By asking questions, you will have a comparison of the immigration lawyers. Pay close attention to how knowledgeable the attorney is about your issue, the problem-solving skills, communication skills and personalities. Immigration is a long process; you need to work with someone that you like and trust.

Ask the lawyer how much his/her service would cost. Be aware of extremely low price as there may be hidden costs for responding to Request for Evidence (RFE) or Notice of Intent to Deny (NOID). If you do not see terms about RFE or NOID, ask about it. When comparing prices, always consider the experience before the price.

How the Law Office of Lu & Associates Can Help You

The Law Office of Lu & Associates practices in the following areas of immigration law:

- Temporary work visas;

- Employment-based immigration;

- Investment immigration;

- Family-based immigration; and

- Citizenship through naturalization.

Attorneys at the Law Office of Lu & Associates have kept an outstanding track record in helping their clients achieve their immigration goals. The team at the Law Office of Lu & Associates genuinely cares for the clients and is very passionate about justice.

If you would like to schedule an in-person or phone/Zoom consultation, please send us an email to info@uslulaw.com or give us a call at (415) 992-8806. Or, you may also conveniently schedule your free initial consultation on our website. We look forward to working with you!

Copyright © 2022 Law Office of Lu & Associates. All Rights Reserved.