EnglishChinese (Simplified)

L-1 签证要求、程序和费用

2021年12月27日 |

作者:Elissa (Ying) Lu

L-1 签证是一种非移民签证。 此类签证允许外国公司将高管、经理或具有特殊知识的员工转移到美国公司。 美国公司和外国公司之间必须有合格的关系。 美国公司必须是外国公司的母公司、子公司、分公司或附属公司。

L-1 签证允许外国雇员为美国雇主长期工作。

您需要了解的有关 L-1 签证的事实

配偶和子女的移民福利

L-21签证持有人的配偶和1岁以下未婚子女有资格获得L-2签证。 L-2 持有人可以上学。

L-2 配偶如果希望在美国工作,也可以申请就业授权文件 (EAD),但 L-2 子女没有资格获得 EAD。

2021 年 11 月 12 日,根据 Shergill 等人 v. Mayorka的和解协议,USCIS 发布 政策提醒,澄清它将把 L 和 E 受抚养配偶视为自动获得与其身份相关的就业授权。 这意味着,在获准并签发显示 L-2 或 E 配偶身份的有效 I-94 文件后,E 和 L 受抚养配偶不再需要通过提交 I-765 表格来申请就业许可。 他们将自动获得工作授权。

L-1 签证没有年度签证上限

每年可以向申请人签发多少个 L1 签证,并没有数额限制。 因此L-1签证可以作为 H-XNUMXB 签证的替代签证选择。

H-1B 签证的上限是每年 65,000 个签证,另外还有 20,000 个 H-1B 签证留给具有高级学位的申请人。

L-1签证是双重意向签证

双重意图的概念允许外国人在申请美国永久居留权的同时持有临时非移民身份。

常见的非移民签证包括 B1/B2 签证、F-1 签证、E 签证等。例如,B1/B2 旅游(访客)签证要求您没有移民意图,这意味着您在访问美国后应该返回您的国家,并无意移民美国。

L-1 签证是一种双重意向签证,这意味着您可以合法地在美国逗留和工作,并有可能移民到美国并在这里获得永久居留权。 例如,您可以持 L-1 签证留在美国,而您的基于亲属关系的移民申请仍在审理中。

请注意,只有美国公司可以代表外国受益人提交 L-1 申请。 L-1 签证申请不能由受益人本人提出申请。

L-1签证的类型

L-1签证有两种类型:L-1A签证和L-1B签证。 L-1A 签证类别适用于将担任管理或执行职务的员工,L-1B 签证适用于具有专业知识的员工。

8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(B) 将“管理能力”定义为组织内的一项分配,其中员工主要:

1) 管理组织或部门、分部、职能或组成部分;

2) 监督和控制其他员工的工作,或管理组织内的重要职能,有权对外招聘和在组织内担任高级职务;

3) 有权对日常经营活动和职能行使自由裁量权。

8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(C) 将“执行能力”定义为组织内的一项任务,其中员工主要:

1) 指导组织或其主要组成部分或职能的管理; 

2) 制定目标和政策;

3) 在决策中行使广泛的自由裁量权;

4) 只接受更高级别领导的一般监督。

8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(D) 将“专业知识”定义为个人拥有的关于申请组织的产品、服务、研究、设备、技术、管理或其他利益和其在国际市场上应用的特殊知识,或在组织的流程和程序中所具有的高级知识或专业知识。

具有专业知识的外籍员工可以在美国公司担任经理或高管。 同样,在海外公司担任高管或经理的外籍员工如果具备专业知识,也可以持 L-1B 签证来美国。

停留时间

L-1 身份的初始期限通常为三年。 但是,如果美国实体是初创公司,则初始有效期仅为一年。

L-1 居留延期最多可批准两年。 L-1A(经理/行政人员)可延长至法定期限为七年; L-1B(专业知识)限制为总共五年。

但是,任何时候 L-1 受益人在美国境外的停留时间都可能在他/她的身份限制结束时被“追回”。 此延期申请需要提供抵达和离开美国的记录(例如 I-94 记录)和其他支持受益人在美国境外逗留时间的证据。

在美国以 H 或 L 身份居住满七年的 L-1 高管或经理不能以 H 或 L 身份再次进入美国、获得 L 身份的延期或转为 H 身份,除非他/她已在美国境外呆了一年。 同样,达到最长逗留期限的 L-1B 专业知识雇员不能重新开始新的五年周期,除非他/她也在美国境外逗留了一年。

5/7 年的上限有一个例外。 如果 (1) L-1 受益人不是连续居住在美国,而是间歇性或季节性地在美国就业,或者每年总共不到六个月,或者 (2) 他们居住在国外并且定期通勤到美国兼职工作,他们可以无限期地获得新的 L-1 申请。 但是,如果他们的配偶或子女连续居住在美国,作为 L-2 签证持有人,L-1 受益人仍将受到 5/7 年的限制。

L-1 签证的要求

获得 L-1 签证有五个要求。

1. 外国公司和美国公司之间必须有合格的关系。 美国公司必须是外国公司的母公司、子公司、分公司或附属公司。

2. 申请公司在美国有足够的业务来支持 L-1 受益人的就业。

3. 获得L-1签证的受益人必须在申请前3年内在外国公司作为全职员工连续工作一年。

4. 受益人在外国公司的职位必须是经理、高管或需要专业知识的职位。

5. 受益人在美国的工作必须是经理、高管或这项工作必须需要专业知识。

L-1 签证申请流程

L-1 签证申请从向 USCIS 提交 I-129 申请开始。 一旦 I-129 申请获得批准,对于已经在美国并持有另一种有效非移民身份(例如 B1/B2)的受益人,他们的身份将从该身份更改为 L-1 身份。 对于居住在美国境外的受益人,他们将通过其居住国的领事处理程序使用 DS-1 表格申请 L-160 签证。

L-1 签证 I-129 申请所需的文件

一般需要外国公司、美国申请公司和将被转移到美国的受益人三套文件。 请注意,此清单并非详尽无遗。 在向 USCIS 提交文件之前,请与有经验的 L-1 签证律师讨论适用于您个案的文件清单。

外国公司文件:

1. 公司章程;

2、股权凭证;

3. 股份记录;

4、营业执照;

5. 所得税申报表;

6、经审计的财务报告;

7. 商业交易文件(合同、信用证);

8、公司宣传资料;

9、组织机构图;

10. 公司抬头,包括公司名称、标志、地址;

11. 驻外办事处照片。

美国公司文件:

1. 公司章程或协会章程;

2、营业执照;

3. EIN 申请表(表格 SS-4);

4. 证明外国公司与美国公司之间合格关系的股票凭证;

5. 证明合格关系的银行对账单

6、美国公司财务报表;

7. 经审计的账目(现金流量报告、资产负债表);

8. 企业所得税申报表1120(如有);

9.办公室租赁协议;

10.公司图片(内部和外部)。

11、公司宣传资料;

12. 公司章程;

13. 商业合同、信用证等证明企业持续经营的文件;

14. 商业计划。 商业计划书应该非常详细;

15. 组织结构图,应包括员工人数和受让方在受让方担任的职位;

16.公司的工资记录;

受益人的文件:

1.护照;

2.旧护照(如有);

3、简历和简历;

4. 文凭;

5. 外国公司的就业证明信,反映受益人在美国境外就业的高管/经理或具有专业知识的人;

6. 工资记录表明在外国公司连续工作一年;

7、转让的聘任文件;

L-1 签证费和加急处理

由于USCIS的申请费用会定期变动,请在USCIS官网查看正确的费用金额: www.uscis.gov. 目前,USCIS 收取与 L-1 签证相关的以下费用。

· USCIS 申请费:任何 I-129 申请的标准申请费为 460 美元。 此费用适用于新的 L-1 签证以及 L-1 延期。

· 欺诈预防和检测费用:500 美元。 它适用于所有首次 L-1 签证申请,但对于同一雇主的 L-1 签证延期或从 L-1A 到 L-1B 或从 L-1B 到 L-1A 的身份变更不需要它。 如果已经处于 L-1 非移民身份的外国工人需要更换雇主或开始新的兼职,雇主也需要支付此费用。

· 公法 114-113 费用:4,500 美元。 如果 L-1 雇主在美国雇用 50 名或更多雇员,并且这些雇员中超过 50% 处于 H-1B、L-1A 或 L-1B 非移民身份,则他们必须支付公法费用。

· 加急处理费:加急处理费不是强制性的。 将 USCIS 处理您的申请所需的时间从几个月缩短到 15 天是一个不错的选择,当前费用为 2,500 美元。

· 律师费:不同移民律所的律师费差别很大。 通常收取固定费用。 考虑到 L-1 签证申请需要大量支持证据,聘请一位您可以信任的律师将非常有帮助。

从 L-1 签证到绿卡

正如我们上面提到的,L-1 签证是一种“双重意图”签证。 在持有 L-1 身份的同时,受益人可以寻求永久居民的身份。 此过程称为状态调整。 要求将取决于 L-1 签证类别。

L-1A签证转绿卡

作为经理或高管,受益人将寻求在 EB-1C 类别下提交绿卡。 通常,EB-1C 类别很少出现签证排期。 因此,它被认为是获得绿卡的更快途径。 为了成功提交 EB-1C 申请,美国雇主必须证明:

· 提交申请的公司是美国雇主。

· 申请公司在提交申请前已在美国开展业务至少 1 年。

· 申请公司与外国公司有合格的关系,如母公司、分公司、子公司或附属公司。

· 受益人在申请之前的 3 年内在美国境外受雇于符合条件的外国实体至少 1 年。

· 受益人在美国境外担任经理或高管职务。

· 受益人寻求继续以经理和高管身份向同一雇主或其子公司或附属机构提供服务。

L-1B签证转绿卡

L-1B 员工通常在 EB-2 类别下申请绿卡。 与不需要 DOL 劳工证明 (“PERM”) 的 L-1A 签证类别相比,在 L-1B 情况下,美国雇主必须获得批准的 DOL 认证。因此,此过程的第一步将是获得劳工证雇主代表受益人出具的证明。

PERM 获得认证后,雇主应为外籍工人提交 I-140 申请。 该过程的最后一步是提交 I-485 申请以调整状态。 如果受益人的优先权日期与签证公告一致,则 I-485 申请可以与 I-140 申请同时提交。

Lu & Associates 律师事务所如何帮助您获得 L-1 签证?

Lu & Associates 的律师事务所专门从事工作签证的申请。 我们曾与许多大小国际公司就 L-1 签证申请进行过合作。 我们的使命是为移民发出强有力的声音和代表他们取得胜利。 我们律所提供范围广泛的移民服务,并取得了出色的成功记录。

如果您想安排面对面或电话咨询,请通过电子邮件与我们联系 info@uslulaw.com或者给我们打电话 (415) 992-8806. 您还可以在我们网站方便地安排您的 免费初步咨询

我们期待着与您的合作!

版权所有 © 2022 陆律师事务所。 版权所有。

EnglishChinese (Simplified)

L-1 Visa Requirements, Procedures and Fees

Published by: admin | December 27, 2021 |

By Elissa (Ying) Lu

L-1 visa is a nonimmigrant visa. This type of visa allows foreign companies to transfer executives, managers, or employees with special knowledge to the U.S. company. There must be a qualifying relationship between the U.S. company and the foreign company. The U.S. company must be a parent, subsidiary, branch, or affiliate company of the foreign company.

L-1 visa allows the foreign employee to work for the U.S. employer for an extended period of time.

Facts You Need to Know About the L-1 Visa

Immigrant benefits for the spouse and children

Spouses and unmarried children under 21 years old of the L-1 visa holders are eligible for the L-2 visas. L-2 holders are allowed to attend school.

L-2 spouses can also apply for an Employment Authorization Document (EAD) if they wish to work in the U.S. L-2 children, however, are not eligible for an EAD.

On November 12, 2021, as per the settlement agreement in Shergill, et al. v. Mayorka, USCIS issued a Policy Alert, clarifying that it will consider L and E dependent spouses to be employment authorized incidental to their status. This means that upon admission and issuance of a valid I-94 document showing L-2 or E spousal status, E and L dependent spouses are no longer required to request employment authorization by filing Form I-765. They will automatically be authorized to work.

There is no annual visa cap for the L-1 visas

There is no limit on how many L1 visas can be issued to applicants each year. It can be an alternative visa option for the H-1B visas.

The H-1B visa cap is limited to 65,000 visas per year with an additional 20,000 H-1B visas set aside for applicants with advanced degrees.

L-1 visa is a dual-intent visa

The concept of Dual Intent allows a foreign national to hold a temporary nonimmigrant status while at the same time applying for permanent residency in the United States.

Common nonimmigrant visas include B1/B2 visas, F-1 visas, E visas etc. For example, B1/B2 tourist (visitor) visa requires you not to have an immigrant intent, meaning that after your visit the U.S. you should return to your home country with no intent to immigrate to the United States.

L-1 visa is a dual-intent visa, which means that you can legally stay and work in the U.S. with the intent to possibly immigrate to the United States and obtain Permanent Residency here. For example, you can stay in the U.S. on L-1 visa while your family-based petition is still pending.

Please note that only the U.S. company can file L-1 petition on behalf of the foreign beneficiary transferee. L-1 visa petition is not a self-petition.

Types of L-1 visas

There are two types of the L-1 visas: L-1A visa and L-1B visa. The L-1A visa category is for employees who will be working in a managerial or executive capacity and the L-1B visa is for employees with specialized knowledge.

8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(B) defines “managerial capacity” as an assignment within an organization in which the employee primarily:

1) manages the organization, or a department, subdivision, function, or component thereof;

2) supervises and controls the work of other employees, or manages an essential function within the organization, has authority to hire and functions at a senior level within the organization;

3) exercises discretion over day-to-day operations of the activity or function for which the employee has authority.

8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(C) defines “executive capacity” to mean an assignment within an organization in which the employee primarily:

1) directs the management of the organization or a major component or function thereof; 

2) establishes goals and policies;

3) exercises wide latitude in discretionary decision-making and

4) receives only general supervision from higher level personnel.

8 CFR §214.2(l)(1)(ii)(D) defines “specialized knowledge” as a special knowledge possessed by an individual of the petitioning organization’s product, service, research, equipment, techniques, management, or other interests and its application in international markets, or an advanced level of knowledge or expertise in the organization’s processes and procedures.

A foreign employee with specialized knowledge can work for the U.S. company as a manager or an executive. Similarly, a foreign employee who worked for the overseas company as an executive or a manager can also come to the U.S. with the L-1B visa if he/she possesses specialized knowledge.

Duration of Stay

L-1 status is generally approved for an initial period of three years. However, if the U.S. entity is a start-up company, the initial validity period is only good for one year.

An L-1 extension of stay may be authorized in increments of up to two years. The L-1A (manager/executive) can be extended up to a statutory limit of seven years; the L-1B (specialized knowledge) is limited to a total of five years.

However, any time an L-1 beneficiary spends outside of the U.S. may be “recaptured” at the end of his/her status limit. This extension petition requires proof in the form of arrival and departure records (such as I-94 record) and other evidence supporting a beneficiary’s time spent outside the U.S.

An L-1 A executive or manager who has been in the U.S. in H or L status for seven years cannot be readmitted in H or L status, obtain an extension of L status, or obtain a change of H status until he/she has stayed outside of the U.S. for a year. Similarly, an L-1B specialized knowledge employee who has reached the maximum period of stay cannot restart a new cycle of five years unless he/she has stayed outside of the U.S. for a year as well.

There is one exception to the 5/7 year-year cap. If (1) the L-1 beneficiaries do not reside continuously in the U.S, but engage in the U.S. employment on an intermittent or seasonal basis, or for less than six months in the aggregate per year, or (2) they reside abroad and periodically commute to the U.S. to work part time, they can have new L-1 petitions approved indefinitely. However, if their spouse or children have continuously resided in the U.S., as L-2 visa holders, the L-1 beneficiary will still be subjected to the 5/7-year cap.

Requirements for the L-1 Visas

There are five requirements for getting the L-1 visas.

1. There must be a qualifying relationship between the foreign company and the U.S. company. The U.S. company must be a parent, subsidiary, branch, or affiliate company of the foreign company.

2. The petitioning company is doing sufficient business in the United States to support the employment of the L-1 beneficiary.

3. The beneficiary obtaining the L-1 visa must have worked for the foreign company as a full-time employee for a continuous period of one year within 3 years before his/her petition is filed.

4. The beneficiary’s position in the foreign company must be managerial, executive or requires specialized knowledge.

5. The beneficiary’s work in the United States must be managerial, executive or this work must require the specialized knowledge.

L-1 Visa Application Process

The L-1 visa application begins with filing the I-129 petition with the USCIS. Once the I-129 petition is approved, for beneficiaries who are already in the U.S. with another valid nonimmigrant status, such as B1/B2, their status will be changed from that status to the L-1 status. For beneficiaries who lives outside of the U.S., they will go through the consular processing in their residence country to apply for an L-1 visa using the Form DS-160.

Documents Needed for the L-1 Visa I-129 Petition

There are generally three sets of documents needed from the foreign company, the U.S. petitioning company and the beneficiary who will be transferred to the U.S., respectively. Please note that this checklist is not exhaustive. Please discuss the list of the documents with an experienced L-1visa attorney before submitting your paperwork to the USCIS.

Foreign company documents:

1. Articles of incorporation;

2. Stock certificates;

3. Stock ledger;

4. Business license;

5. Income tax returns;

6. Audited financial report;

7. Documents of business transactions (contracts, letters of credit);

8. Promotional materials of the company;

9. Organizational charts;

10. Company’s letterhead with its name, logo, address;

11. Pictures of the foreign office.

U.S. company documents:

1. Articles of incorporation or association;

2. Business license;

3. Application for EIN (Form SS-4);

4. Stock certificates showing the qualifying relationship between the foreign company and the U.S. company;

5. Bank statements evidencing the qualifying relationship

6. Financial statements of the U.S. company;

7. Audited accounts (cash flow reports, balance sheets);

8. Corporate income tax return Form 1120 (if any);

9. Office lease agreement;

10. Pictures of the company (interior and exterior).

11. Promotional materials of the company;

12. Corporate bylaws;

13. Documents showing an on-going business, such as commercial contracts and letters of credit;

14. Business plan. The business plan should be very detailed;

15. Organizational charts, which should include the number of the employees and the position, which is held by the beneficiary as a transferee;

16. Company’s payroll records;

Beneficiary’s documents:

1. Passport;

2. Old passport (if any);

3. Resume and CV;

4. Diploma;

5. Employment verification letter from the foreign company, reflecting the beneficiary’s employment outside the U.S. as an executive/manager or person with specialized knowledge;

6. Payroll record indicating one-year continuous employment with the foreign company;

7. Appointment documents regarding the transfer;

L-1 Visa Fee and Premium Processing

Because the USCIS filing fees change periodically, please check the amount of the correct fees on the USCIS’s official website: www.uscis.gov. Currently, USCIS charges the following fees associated with an L-1 visa.

· USCIS Filing Fee: The standard filing fee for any I-129 petition is $460. This fee applies to new L-1 visas as well as L-1 extensions.

· Fraud Prevention and Detection Fee: $500. It is applicable to all first time L-1 visa petitions but it is not required for L-1 visa extensions or change of status from L-1A to L-1B or from L-1B to L-1A with the same employer. Employers also need to pay this fee if a foreign worker already in L-1 nonimmigrant status needs to change employers, or begin new concurrent employment.

· Public Law 114-113 Fee: $4,500. L-1 employers must pay the Public Law fee if they employ 50 or more employees in the United States and more than 50 percent of these employees are in H-1B, L-1A or L-1B nonimmigrant status.

· Premium Processing Fee: Premium Processing Fee is not mandatory. It is a nice option to shorten the amount of time it takes for USCIS to process your petition from months to 15 calendar days for a fee of $ 2,500.

· Legal Fee: The legal fee varies greatly among different immigration law firms. A flat fee is usually charged. Considering that L-1 visa petitions require a multitude of supporting evidence, hiring an attorney that you can trust will be very helpful.

From the L-1 Visa to Green Card

As we have mentioned above, L-1 visa is a “dual intent” visa. While holding the L-1 status, the beneficiary can seek the status of the permanent resident. This process is known as an adjustment of status. The requirements will depend on the L-1 visa category.

L-1A visa to Green Card

As a manager or an executive, the beneficiary will be looking to file a Green Card under the EB-1C category. Typically, the EB-1C category does not have a visa backlog for applicants from all countries. Therefore, it is deemed as a faster route to get the green card. In order to file a successful EB-1C petition, the U.S. employer must prove that

· The petitioning company is a U.S. employer.

· The petitioning company has been doing business in the U.S. for at least 1 year prior to filing.

· The petitioning company has a qualifying relationship with a foreign company, as a parent company, branch, subsidiary, or affiliate.

· The beneficiary has been employed outside of the United States in the 3 years preceding the petition for at least 1 year by a qualifying foreign entity.

· The beneficiary’s employment has been outside the United States in a managerial or executive capacity.

· The beneficiary is seeking to continue rendering services to the same employer, or its subsidiary or affiliate, in a managerial or executive capacity.

L-1B visa to Green Card

L-1B employees usually apply for the Green Card under the EB-2 category. Compare to the L-1A visa category where the DOL labor certification ("PERM”) is not needed, in L-1B cases the U.S. employer must obtain an approved DOL certification. Therefore, the first step in this process will be obtaining a Labor Certification by the employer on behalf of the beneficiary.

After the PERM is certified, the employer should file the I-140 petition for the foreign worker. The last step of the process is to file the I-485 application to adjust the status. The I-485 application can be filed concurrently with the I-140 petition if the beneficiary’s priority date is current as per the visa bulletin.

How the Law Office of Lu & Associates Can Help You With Obtaining Your L-1 Visa?

The Law office of Lu & Associates is specialized in the work visa applications. We have worked with a number of small and big international companies on their L-1 visa applications. Our mission is to provide immigrants strong voice and the experienced representation they deserve. Our firm offers a wide range of immigration services with outstanding record of success.

If you would like to schedule an in-person or phone consultation, please contact us via email info@uslulaw.com or give us a call at (415) 992-8806. You can also conveniently schedule your free initial consultation on our website.

We look forward to working with you!

Copyright © 2022 Law Office of Lu & Associates. All Rights Reserved.