EnglishChinese (Simplified)

从工作签证到永久居留:您需要知道的一切

2021年12月31日 |

作者:Elissa (Ying)Lu

持有工作签证的临时工可以通过移民签证寻求在美国永久居住。 与世界其他地区相比,美国的移民人数最多。 根据美国劳工统计局的数据,外国出生的美国文职劳动力占 17%。 

外国人可以移民到美国的几种方式之一是通过基于就业的移民签证。 以就业为基础的移民签证是基于在美国的永久就业机会。 为了有资格通过就业签证永久移民到美国,或者如果雇主想通过就业签证赞助某人获得永久居留权,这个过程有几个步骤。 下面详细概述了这个多步骤过程。 

以就业为基础的绿卡的资格 

USCIS 每年向符合美国移民法规定的申请人提供大约 140,000 个基于就业的移民签证,也称为 EB 签证。 雇主可以通过完成几个最终获得永久居留权或绿卡的步骤来担保外国人或持有临时工作签证的人获得永久就业。 

如果申请人符合教育、工作经验和技能的正确组合并满足其他资格要求,美国雇主可以担保持有 H-1B 或 L1 签证等工作签证的个人获得永久居留权。 与需要不时更新的 H-1B 等临时签证选择相比,这使雇主能够获得更长期、稳定的劳动力。 

基于就业的偏好类别 

基于就业的类别分为五类。 这五个类别是:EB-1、EB-2、EB-3、EB-4 和 EB-5。 每个类别分别有自己的子类别。 

就业第一优先(EXNUMX 或 EB-XNUMX):优先工作者和杰出人才 

此移民类别指定用于以下子类别:

  1. 杰出人才(EB-1A): 为了获得此类别的资格,个人必须能够通过持续的国家或国际赞誉证明他或她在科学、艺术、教育、商业或体育等各个领域具有非凡的能力。
  2. 杰出教授或研究员(EB-1B): 申请人必须证明其在特定学术领域的杰出成就获得国际认可。
  3. 跨国高管或经理(EB-1C): 如果申请人已经在为美国申请雇主工作,则在提交移民签证申请或最近一次合法非移民入境之前的三年内,申请人必须在美国境外工作至少一年。 美国雇主还必须满足某些要求,包括开展业务至少 1 年,与申请人在美国境外工作的实体保持合格关系,以及美国雇主打算雇用该员工担任经理或高管职位。 

在上述所有子类别中,如果满足 USCIS 规定的条件,则不需要劳工证明。

就业第二优先(E2 或 EB-2): 拥有高级学位的专业人员和特殊能力的人 

EB-2 类别包括以下子组: 

  1. 持有高级学位的专业人员: 要符合资格,申请人必须具有高级学位,通常为硕士或以上,或者具有学士学位,并且在雇主为其提供就业签证的行业中具有五年的渐进经验。 
  2. 具有特殊能力的人: 这包括那些能够在科学、艺术或商业领域表现出非凡能力的人。
  3. 国家利益豁免(NIW): 在此类别下,如果可以确定他们的工作被认为对国家利益有利,则一个人可能有资格从临时工作签证获得绿卡。 

上述前两个子类别需要获得劳工部 (“DOL”) 批准的 PERM 劳工证书,这两个子类别需要美国雇主提供的有效永久工作机会。 在获得批准的 PERM 认证后,美国雇主必须代表申请人提交 I-140 表格。 

国家利益豁免申请可以免除 PERM 要求。 因此,申请人可以直接提交 I-140 申请。

就业第三优先(E3 或 EB-3):技术工人、专业人员和非技术工人(其他工人) 

该类别非常广泛,包括具有不同教育水平、技能和能力的个人,但这些个人的受教育水平和工作经验比 EB-1 和 EB-2 中规定的人更低一些。 美国雇主必须同意赞助该申请。 申请还必须经过与第二优先相同的步骤,即 PERM 劳工证书需要获得 DOL 的批准,之后准美国雇主可以提交 I-140 表格申请。 

此类别有以下子类别: 

  1. 熟练工人: 在这个子类别中,如果一个人满足至少 2 年非临时或季节性培训或工作经验的工作要求,则该人有资格成为基于就业的永久居民。 
  2. 专业人士: 此类别下的 EB-3 申请人必须证明他们拥有美国学士学位或同等学历。 
  3. 非技术工人: 非技术工人从事非技术劳动(需要少于 2 年的培训或经验),这不是临时或季节性的。 

就业第四优先(E4 或 EB-4):某些特殊移民 

符合此类别资格的特殊移民包括宗教工作者、特殊移民少年、某些退休官员或国际组织雇员等。

就业第五优先(E5或 EB-5): 移民投资者 

EB-5 基于就业的绿卡类别是独一无二的,因为该签证使外国投资者有机会通过对美国新商业企业进行大量资本投资而成为永久居民,该企业提供 10 - 合格的美国工人的就业机会。 EB-5 投资者应使用 I-526 表格申请移民签证。 

基于就业的绿卡流程概述 

每个类别的基于就业的签证的申请程序可能​​不同。 

EB-1 申请流程 

  1. I-140 申请 

在 EB-1 类别下申请绿卡的主要好处之一是该类别不需要 PERM 劳工认证。 申请人可以直接在 I-140 表格上提交移民申请。 提交 I-140 表格申请的日期成为申请人的优先日。 对于 EB-1A 和 EB-1B 类别,当结合使用加急处理时,申请人将在 15 个日历日内收到美国移民局的决定。 

  1. I-485 申请或领事处理 

I-140 收据通知上显示的优先日期可确保申请人在移民签证的等候名单中占有一席之地。 申请人只有在优先日期变为当前时才能提交 I-485 申请或 DS-260 申请。 

如果优先日期变为当前,已经在美国的人可以通过向 USCIS 提交 I-485 表格来申请调整身份。 如果准工人在其本国,他们可以在本国的美国大使馆或领事馆申请移民签证,并通过几个步骤进行面试。 两者都是获得绿卡的方法,尽管在后一种情况下,外国工人只有在持有移民签证进入美国后才能成为永久居民。 

对于已经在美国且优先日期为当前的申请人,他们可以选择同时提交 I-485 申请和 I-140 申请; 但是,对于美国境外的申请人,即使他们的优先日期在提交 I-140 时是当前的,他们也必须等到 I-140 申请获得批准后才能开始领事处理。 

EB-2 和 EB-3 申请流程 

针对 EB-2 和 EB-3 类别的基于就业的绿卡流程有三个基本步骤。 

  1. PERM 

一旦雇主确定临时工作签证持有人或外国人是否有资格从工作签证升级为永久居留权,EB-2 和 EB-3 类别的雇主需要向劳工部 (DOL) 就业和培训管理部门完成劳工证明申请。 对于申请国家利益豁免的 EB-2 申请人,这不是必需的。 

劳工认证程序,也称为 PERM,完全由雇主完成。 此过程的第一步是雇主通过 DOL 的在线 FLAG 系统提交现行工资决定 (PWD)。 PWD 给出了雇主雇用永久外国工人的职位的就业地区的流行工资。 

然后,雇主必须执行招聘程序以证明没有其他合格的美国工人可担任 PERM 职位。 

由于 PWD 自签发之日起一年或更短的时间内到期,雇主必须在该期限内完成招聘流程并提交 PERM。 

然后,雇主使用 ETA 表格 9089 DOL 在线提交 PERM 劳工证明。 DOL 收到劳工证申请的日期称为申请日期,USCIS 和国务院将其用作稍后裁定绿卡申请的优先日期。 

DOL 通常需要几个月的时间来裁决劳工证申请。 

  1. I-140 申请 

如果劳工认证申请获得劳工部认证,下一步是雇主向相应的 USCIS 服务中心提交经认证的 PERM 和 I-140 表格,即外籍工人移民申请。 这必须在 PERM 认证批准后的 180 天内完成,否则 PERM 将过期。 

根据目前的案件处理时间,美国移民局需要 3.5 到 14 个月的时间来裁决 I-140 申请。 但是,可以选择通过向 USCIS 提交加急处理申请来加快 I-140 申请。 

  1. I-485 申请或领事处理 

此过程与 EB-1 类别下的过程相同。 

EB-4 申请流程 

在 EB-4 类别下提交的申请必须在 I-360 表格、美亚人、寡妇/鳏夫或特殊移民申请表上提交。 

对于符合 EB4 签证资格的不同类别,此类别下的申请要求也有所不同。 例如,即使宗教工作者类别不需要 PERM,但申请人必须出示宗教组织的证据,并且该组织是非营利组织。 

当 EB4 申请的优先日期在签证排期表中变为当前,申请人可以进入下一步,提交 I-485 申请或通过领事处理。 

EB-5 申请流程 

一旦投资者完成投资,希望通过 EB5 途径移民到美国的投资者必须经过几个步骤。 

  1. I-526 申请 

如果投资者已投资或正在投资新商业企业所需的投资金额,则该投资者必须向美国移民局提交 I-526 表格。 该申请必须证明他们符合 EB-5 要求。 

  1. I-485 申请或领事处理 

如果申请获得批准,投资者需要提交 DS-260(如果投资者在国外)或向 USCIS 提交 I-485 表格以调整身份。 一旦 USCIS 批准 I-485 申请,它将授予 EB-5 投资者和所有衍生家庭成员两年的有条件永久居留权。 

  1. I-829 申请 

最后一步是在授予有条件居留权之日的两周年前 829 天向美国移民局提交 I-90 表格,以申请解除条件。 获得批准后,USCIS 将取消所有条件,EB-5 投资者将获得有效期为 10 年的绿卡,该绿卡可在到期时更新。 

我们律所可以帮助您处理基于就业的签证申请 

考虑到每个阶段涉及的步骤数量,以就业为基础的移民过程可能是一条艰巨的道路。 对于大多数人来说,正确地从一个步骤走到另一个步骤可能会让人不知所措。 如果您有能力将临时工作签证变为永久居民,那么获得移民专家的帮助对您来说是有益的。 

陆律师事务所移民专家团队助您在漫长曲折的就业绿卡之路上助您一臂之力。 在我们团队的帮助和指导下,您可以放心,您的请愿会一直顺利进行。 我们成功的移民案件的声誉和历史不言而喻。 我们也可以帮助您,所以不要犹豫 立即联系

版权所有 © 2022 陆律师事务所。 版权所有。

EnglishChinese (Simplified)

From a Work Visa to Permanent Residency: All You Need to Know

Published by: admin | December 31, 2021 |

By Elissa (Ying)Lu

A temporary worker holding a work visa can seek to live permanently in the United States through an immigrant visa. The United States has the highest number of immigrants compared to the rest of the world. As per the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, the share of the U.S. civilian labor force that is foreign born accounts for 17 percent. 

One of the several ways a foreign national can immigrate to the United States is through an employment-based immigrant visa. The employment-based immigrant visa is based on a permanent employment opportunity in the United States. To be eligible to permanently immigrate to the United States through the employment visa or if an employer wants to sponsor someone for permanent residency through the employment visa, there are several steps in this process. This multi-step process is outlined in detail below. 

Eligibility for an Employment-Based Green Card 

The USCIS makes available approximately 140,000 employment-based immigration visas every year, also known as EB visas, to applicants who qualify under the U.S. immigration law provisions. An employer may sponsor a foreign national or a person with a temporary work visa for permanent employment by completing several steps that will ultimately lead to permanent residency or a Green Card. 

A U.S. employer may sponsor individuals with a work visa like H-1B or L1 visa to permanent residency if the applicant qualifies with the right combination of education, work experience and skills and fulfils other eligibility requirements. This gives employers the advantage of securing more long-term employment over temporary visa options like H-1B which need to be renewed from time to time. 

Employment-Based Preference Categories 

Employment based categories are divided into five categories. These five categories are: EB-1, EB-2, EB-3, EB-4 and EB-5. Each category has its own sub-groups respectively. 

Employment First Preference (E1 or EB-1): Priority Worker and Persons of Extraordinary Ability 

This immigration category is designated for the following sub-groups:

  1. Extraordinary Ability (EB-1A): In order to qualify under this category, the individual must be able to demonstrate that he or she has extraordinary ability in various fields like sciences, arts, education, business, or athletics through sustained national or international acclaim.
  2. Outstanding professor or researcher (EB-1B): The applicant must demonstrate international recognition for their outstanding achievements in a particular academic field.
  3. Multinational executive or manager (EB-1C): The applicant must have been employed outside the U.S. for at least one year in the three years preceding the filing of the immigrant visa petition or the most recent lawful nonimmigrant admission if the applicant is already working for the U.S. petitioning employer. The U.S. based employer must also fulfil certain requirements which includes having doing business for at least 1 year, maintaining a qualifying relationship to the entity the applicant worked for outside the U.S., and intention of the U.S. employer to employ the temporary worker in a managerial or executive capacity. 

In all of the above sub-groups, if the conditions laid out by the USCIS are met, no labor certification is required.

Employment Second Preference (E2 or EB-2): Professionals Holding Advanced Degrees and Persons of Exceptional Ability 

The EB-2 category includes the following sub-groups: 

  1. Professionals holding an advanced degree: To be eligible, the applicant must have an advanced degree, typically masters or above. An applicant may also be eligible under this category with a bachelor’s degree and five years of progressive experience in the profession for which the employer is sponsoring the employment visa. 
  2. Persons with exceptional ability: This includes those who are able to show exceptional ability in the field of science, arts or business.
  3. National Interest Waiver (NIW): Under this category, a person might be eligible from a temporary work visa to a Green Card if it can be determined that their work is considered beneficial to national interest. 

The first two sub-groups outlined above need an approved PERM labor certification from the Department of Labor (“DOL”), These two sub-groups are dependent on a valid permanent job offer from a U.S. employer. Following an approved PERM certification, the U.S. employer must file for the Form I-140 on behalf of the applicant. 

The PERM requirement can be waived for the National Interest Waiver petition. Therefore, applicants can directly file the I-140 petition.

Employment Third Preference (E3 or EB-3): Skilled Workers, Professionals, and Unskilled Workers (Other Workers) 

This category is quite broad and includes individuals with a varying level of education, skills and competencies which are less advanced than those set forth in EB-1 and EB-2. A U.S. employer must agree to sponsor the petition. The petitions must also go through the same steps as second preference, that is, the PERM Labor Certification needs to be approved by the DOL after which the prospective U.S. employer may file the Form I-140 petition. 

This category has the following sub-groups: 

  1. Skilled Workers: Under this sub-group, a person can be eligible to become an employment based permanent resident if the person fulfils the job requirements of a minimum of 2 years training or work experience that are not temporary or seasonal. 
  2. Professionals: EB-3 applicants under this category must prove that they have a U.S. Bachelor’s degree or equivalent. 
  3. Unskilled Workers: Unskilled workers perform unskilled labor (requiring less than 2 years training or experience), that is not of a temporary or seasonal nature. 

Employment Fourth Preference (E4 or EB-4): Certain Special Immigrants 

The Special immigrants who will qualify under this category include, among others, religious workers, special immigrant juveniles, certain retired officers or employees of international organizations, etc.

Employment Fifth Preference (E5 or EB-5): Immigrant Investors 

The EB-5 category of employment-based green card is a unique one because this visa grants foreign investors the opportunity to become a permanent resident through a substantial capital investment in a new commercial enterprise in the United States which provides for the creation of 10 full-time jobs for qualified U.S. workers. EB-5 investors shall self-petition for an immigrant visa on the Form I-526. 

Overview of The Employment-Based Green Card Process 

The application process may be different for each of the categories of employment-based visas. 

EB-1 Application Process 

  1. I-140 Petition 

One of the main benefits of applying Green Cards under the EB-1 category is that this category does not require a PERM Labor Certification. The applicant is able to directly file an immigration petition on the Form I-140. The date of filing the Form I-140 petition becomes the applicant’s priority date. For EB-1A and EB-1B categories, when combining the use of premium processing, the applicants will receive a decision in 15 calendar days from USCIS. 

  1. I-485 Application or Consular Processing 

The priority date that appears on the I-140 receipt notice ensures a place for the applicant in the waiting list for an immigration visa. The applicant can submit the I-485 application or the DS-260 application only when their priority date becomes current. 

If the priority date becomes current, one who is already in the U.S. can apply for adjustment of status by filing the form I-485 with the USCIS. And if the prospective worker is in their home country, they may apply for an immigrant visa at the U.S. Embassy or Consulate in their home country and go through an interview by completing several steps. Both are ways to secure a Green Card, although in the latter scenario, the foreign worker will become a permanent resident only when they enter the U.S. with their immigrant visa. 

For applicants already in the U.S. and whose priority dates are current, they can choose to concurrently file their I-485 application along with the I-140 petition; However, for applicants who are outside of the U.S., even if their priority dates are current at the time of I-140 submission, they have to wait until the I-140 petition is approved before they can start the consular processing. 

EB-2 and EB-3 Application Process 

There are three essential steps in the employment-based green card process for the categories of EB-2 and EB-3. 

  1. PERM 

Once employers determine if the temporary work visa holder or foreign national is eligible to progress from a work visa to permanent residency, employers for EB-2 and EB-3 categories require to complete a labor certification request with the Department of Labor’s (DOL) Employment and Training Administration department. This is not required for EB-2 applicant applying for a National Interest Waiver. 

The Labor certification process, also known as PERM, is carried out exclusively by the employer. The first step in this process is for the employer to submit a Prevailing Wage Determination (PWD) with the DOL’s online FLAG system. The PWD gives the prevailing wage rate for the area of employment of the position for which the employer is hiring a permanent foreign worker. 

The employer must then carry out a recruitment process to demonstrate that there are no other qualified US workers available for the PERM position. 

Since the PWD expires within a year or less from the date it is issued, it is imperative that the employer complete the recruitment process and file the PERM within that period. 

The employer then files the PERM labor certification online using the ETA Form 9089 DOL. The date the labor certification application is received by the DOL is known as the filing date and is used by USCIS and the Department of State as the priority date for adjudicating the Green Card application later on. 

The DOL usually takes several months to adjudicate the labor certification application. 

  1. I-140 Petition 

If the Labor certification application is certified by the Department of Labor, the next step is for the employer to submit the certified PERM with a Form I-140, Immigrant Petition for Alien Worker, to the appropriate USCIS service center. This must be done within 180 days of the PERM certification approval, otherwise the PERM expires. 

As per current case processing times, the USCIS is taking anywhere between 3.5 to 14 months to adjudicate an I-140 petition. There is, however, an option to expedite a Form I-140 petition by filing a Premium Processing Application with the USCIS. 

  1. I-485 Application or Consular Processing 

This process is the same as the process under the EB-1 category. 

EB-4 Application Process 

The petitions submitted under the EB-4 category must be filed on the Form I-360, Petition for Amerasian, Widow(er), or Special Immigrant. 

The requirements for filing under this category also varies for the different categories eligible for EB4 visa. For example, even though PERM is not required for religious workers category, the applicant must show evidence of the religious organization and that the organization is a non-profit. 

When the priority date for the EB4 application becomes current in the visa bulletin, the applicant can move to the next step, by filing the I-485 application or going through the consular processing. 

EB-5 Application Process 

An investor who wishes to immigrate to the U.S. through the EB5 route has to go through several steps, once the investor finalizes on the investment. 

  1. I-526 Petition 

An investor must file Form I-526 with the USCIS if the investor has invested or is in the process of investing the required investment amount in a new commercial enterprise. This petition must prove that they meet the EB-5 requirements. 

  1. I-485 Application or Consular Processing 

If the application is approved, the investor needs to either file DS-260 if the investor is abroad or file Form I-485 with USCIS to adjust status. Once USCIS approves the I-485 application, it will grant conditional permanent residence to the EB-5 investor and al derivative family members for two years. 

  1. I-829 Petition 

The final step is to file for the removal of conditions by filing Form I-829 with the USCIS 90 days prior to the second anniversary of the date the conditional residency was granted. On approval, the USCIS removes all conditions and the EB-5 investor receives Green Card valid for 10 years which is renewable as expiry approaches. 

Our Firm Can Help You with Your Employment-Based Visa Application 

The employment-based immigration process can be an arduous route, considering the number of steps involved in each stage. Going from one step to another properly can be overwhelming for most people. If you are well-positioned to advance a temporary worker to permanent resident, it would be beneficial for you to get the help of immigration expert. 

Law Office of Lu & Associates’ team of immigration experts can help you in the long and winding road to obtain an employment-based Green Card. With the help and guidance of our team, you can be rest assured that your petitions keep moving smoothly. Our reputation and history of successful immigration cases speak for themselves. We can help you too so don’t hesitate to contact us today.

Copyright © 2022 Law Office of Lu & Associates. All Rights Reserved.